We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment on Christmas Day”
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #156 of 1,429 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Near Wyandotte Street
Transit: The Max bus stop - 47th and Wyandotte stop.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were looking for a new tradition for Christmas Day, and took friends and my 8 year old to Buca. The wait was 20 minutes even with reservations, and when we arrived, we were completely ignored at the host station for well over 5 minutes while we stood there. He was talking with friends, giving servers assignments, trying to find a pen, answering the phone....c'mon, we were standing right there. We could have at least be greeted.
Our server was good, but the restaurant was freezing. The food took well over an hour to be delivered, and it was not good. The lasagna was soft with no texture or flavor. The small serving of Chicken Limone for $22 was just stunning. My son had terrible pizza. The manager came over and looked at how much we had not eaten, and apologized for the coldness, the extreme wait and the disappointments with the food, she said it was a skeleton crew in the kitchen with none of the regular chefs. I think you should not be open if you can only offer a subpar meal.
She offered us a free dessert to make up for the disappointments. We ordered 1 ice cream sundae and 1 piece of chocolate cake for the table to share. When the bill came, we were still charged for 1 dessert. When questioned, the waiter said the manager only offered to pick up one dessert. Really? Good thing we did not all order dessert thinking it was her way of making things right.
This made a good deed go even more wrong. We will never be back again, and since none of our friends had the great experiences we had there in the past, I'm sure this is now on their list of places to run from.
A terrible way to spend Christmas dinner.
Back to Hereford House next year.

Thank MLMRocksTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Buca di Beppo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 143 of 261 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Food was average at best. Olive Garden has better flavor and at half the price. I really doubt if I will bother going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ptrull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went on a Friday during an off hour (2pm) figuring we'd have great service. After being seated, waitress took our order & we ordered garlic bread, caesar salad, raviolis w/meat sauce, pizza & 2 kids meals for a party of 7. The waitress, while pleasant wasn't overly friendly or attentive. Caesar salad was decent but pretty dry. Garlic bread was awful, no cheese. After approximately 50min wait with a light crowd, they served pizza & ravioli entree at room temp (not hot) & then asked what we ordered for the kids. Clearly upset that they served the adults while the kids were starving, they said kids meal would be out in 1min. 10+ min later the kids food finally arrived (hot, amazingly). Ravioli was room temp, not hot & overall terrible. The pizza could've been good if it was hot, but it was room temp as well. Drink service was non-existent unless you pleaded for refill. 2 other tables next to us waited for over an hour for food & were irate as well. Upon expressing displeasure with service & food, mgr offered the kids meals for free. After continuing to be ignored for service they offered free dessert which we were told was pre-made & would only take a minute. Waiting over 15min for a pre-made dessert we finally left. We spent over 1.5hrs of hell there & the 2 other tables were still pleading for their tickets when we left. The general mgr was apologetic & cut our bill by 75% but this Buca location is thoroughly awful! She stated that they were having chef problems, etc... but if you look at the review list, you'll see that this isn't a one time occasion.
On a side note, we've had excellent service at the Claremont, CA Buca location on at least 5 occasions, so this isn't an indictment on the whole chain, but you couldn't pay me to go back to the KC location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OilCanz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We dined there 11/16/13 for an early dinner. Since we had never been there we called in advance & asked if there was a dress code. The girl that answered asked sarcastically "For who, the staff?" Our response to that was, "No, for patrons." The restaurant person then stated, "Yes, you have to dress like a princess". We should have taken that as a hint as to the quality of the service & chosen another restaurant but we didn't unfortunately.
We were seated @ the very back in an isolated part of the place. When we ordered we had to order our salad & meal separately as we were told everything was a la carte. When I asked if garlic bread came with the meal I was told no, we would have to order bread separately as well. We ordered some garlic bread too.
The salad was a generic iceberg lettuce salad, nothing special, so rather expensive @ $13.00. After we received our salad the waitress asked us if we wanted some bread. I asked if it came with the meal & she said "Yes". Ok this was irritating; why weren't we given this information earlier when we asked?
The shrimp pasta had a tasty sauce but overcooked mushy shrimp. The pasta was served in a bowl with a large chip along the rim that should been thrown away & certainly not used to serve guests.
Midway through our meal another staff person asked us if we wanted parmesan cheese which we had wanted at the beginning of our meal, not when we were nearly finished.
The staff then began setting up the tables in the room clanging & banging the plates & silverware very, very loudly. It was really terrible.
The food, the serving size, the price & the service leaves much to desired. If you are wanting Italian food, even Olive Garden is a much better place to eat.
This was so disappointing and pricey at that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lizylou89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

we have dined at this buca di beppo in the plaza area of kansas city, mo twice. not because we enjoyed the first time; but because we always enjoy this restaurant chain in other cities. like anaheim, and king of prussia, etc.. the food is about the same; but the environment is not good. you have to walk way down stairs from street level to enter and the ceilings are low for a six foot guy like myself. the rooms feel cramped and too cluttered and dark. i would hate to be dining here when a fire broke out. enjoy this restaurant in another town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your complaint in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing