We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #175 of 1,411 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Near Wyandotte Street
Transit: The Max bus stop - 47th and Wyandotte stop.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“service poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have eaten here many times and the service is always poor. You wait and wait for a table. Once seated it is loud and you are lucky to have a server check on you ever. The food is not consistent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank stepford wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the location in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    81
    50
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant for a group!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Family style servings with super fun waiters. The food is excellent, the place is huge and set up like a maze. It is very noisy so conversation can be a little difficult, but after your first bite you will not want to talk anyway, just enjoy the smells, the flavor and the AHHHH.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was fine... as for the ambience? Weird.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want to get creeped out you could sit in the 'pope room' where the wax head of pope stares at you as you spill spaghetti sauce on yourself... won't be going back if I can help it.

Helpful?
1 Thank faithdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the location in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch and had a lot of fun - the atmosphere is really kitschy and interesting to look at. We ordered the apple Gouda salad with cranberries and candied walnuts which was delicious. We also got the ravioli, but I was disappointed with that - it was like the frozen ravioli that you buy at the store with some watery spaghetti sauce. The bread was nothing special but I like bread, so that wasn't a deal breaker. Our server was really nice and attentive. Overall, I'd definitely go again, I'd just order a different entree.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danell_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
162 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It is okay 6 out of ten”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The lasagna seemed old and the chiken park was burned. On a positive. Note the waitress was nice. I wouldnt return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasCityTootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing