We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the kitschy decor, decent southern Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #150 of 1,400 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Near Wyandotte Street
Transit: The Max bus stop - 47th and Wyandotte stop.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
hadley rille
Level Contributor
294 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Love the kitschy decor, decent southern Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good meatballs. Good salads. Served family style! Underground with many little rooms. Fun fun fun. Not expensive. Would return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    81
    50
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“big restarunt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

we went and visit the plaza we wanted to something to eat so we saw bucas and we went down to eat when our table was ready we went down this LONG corridor our table was almost and back of the restarunt. but i got to that the food was really good at i liked the decroations of the restarunt.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank oscar219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson, Kansas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Plentiful, bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We forgot that we had been to this chain in a different city until we got there. Then we forgot if we liked it. It all came back quickly as the huge portions of forgettable food came out. I got the standard Spagetti and Meatballs since I wanted leftovers later in the day and it was awful. Hard, huge, and poor tasting meatballs. The dogs must have though I was thinking of them when I over ordered. My wife's seafood linguine wasn't that bad (according to HER), and that's the only reason this place isn't rated terrible.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great family style food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Always fun to go to with a group of friends. I enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and the hearty Italian food.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank reynsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We ate at this restaraunt with a large group of 16 people.
We were seated at the Popes table, which was great, and very comfortable.
The food, waiters and overall expierince was great, Large portions of food and great service.
I would certainly refer to others.
Nice Job to the Cooks and Staff!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing