We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Restaruant in KC”
Review of Taqueria Mexico

Taqueria Mexico
Ranked #804 of 1,424 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaruant in KC”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food is great, service is super fast and friendly and prices are very competitive. Try the chicken chimichunga! We come here every time we visit KC. Love it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    19
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a fan...”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My question is how does a place with rude service and sloppy food stay in business? I ordered a burrito spread with rice & beans that cost me 11 dollars and some change, Ouch!, Am I on the plaza? The burrito was made sloppy with chunks of meat that had not been shredded, and lettuce, which I specifically asked them to leave out. Staff never said one word to me besides telling me the price. I don't review many restaurants but the hype for Taqueria Mexico is overrated and won't be reconsidered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Soak up your suds”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Taqueria Mexico - Southwest Boulevard

Great place for late night snack with good friends, but the jukebox needs an update. Try the Alambres Mexico with shrimp, bacon, beef & cheese it will definitely soak up your suds.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ezekiel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hailing from southern Cali, I search high and low for really good, authentic Mexican food, and I'm continually disappointed in what Kansas City has to offer. One would think "if its on the boulevard, and its owned and run by Mexicans" (no offense intended) the food would have some of the wonderful flavors that come from our neighbors to the south. I've tried 2 of these locations, the southwest blvd location multiple times. Tonight it was 7th street. The service was poor; our waiter really didn't care. No silverware until I asked; even when i got my food! No refilling my tea until I asked. Then the food came. the presentation was ok but I have never had beans & rice that were so tasteless. The meat was just barely ok, but again, none of the delicious flavors I associate with good Mexican food. Are the people cooking actually tasting or eating what they're cooking? I somehow doubt it. i had to write this review to remind myself never to eat again at this so called "Mexican" restaurant. Get a spice or two! Sheesh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatWilliams58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing to Recommend This Place”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you like mediocre chain restaurant food, this is the place for you. I just had lunch there. The service was quick but inattentive; the ambiance was uninspired and way too noisy for lunch; and the food was what I line to call "plastic food" (everything looks and tastes the same with no distinguishing characteristics). There are many Mexican restaurants in Kansas City that are much better than this.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Mexico also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing