We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sampling of KC-style BBQ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack Stack Barbecue - Martin City

Jack Stack Barbecue - Martin City
Ranked #3 of 1,400 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good sampling of KC-style BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stopped here passing through the area on a Sunday for lunch. Was seated immediately, service was great, server suggested a sampler platter for a first-timer like me. I chose the beef burnt ends and pork ribs, with sides of beans and the cheesy corn bake. They were all delicious for this style of BBQ...although I prefer Memphis-style dry rubbed as compared to KC-style smoke-and-sauce.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    163
    45
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisville, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wow! Wow! Wow!
This is everything they promised it would be. I had the sampler ... delicious.
The corn is IN cheese .... Yum!
Get a table and chow down, no disappointments here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Razinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wausau, wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent bbq”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visited for a terrific lunch. Loved the corn casserole the beans and the burnt ends. The only sour note was the bread budding which tasted processed and overly sweet. Overall a very enjoyable mwal

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cotimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We make a point of going to Jack Stack at least once whenever we are in the Kansas City area. The lamb ribs are to die for, and there are very few places they can be found. I always go for the vegetable kebab instead of the cole slaw and fries and am never disappointed. My husband loves the Arkansas topper and says the beans are the best he's ever tasted. Portions are ample, and we usually get a second meal out of them the next day. Double yum!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jinxie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We eat at the Freighthouse location every time we visit KC. The old railroad building is really cool. The burnt ends are my favorite. Service is always great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank archeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Stack Barbecue - Martin City also viewed

 

Been to Jack Stack Barbecue - Martin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing