We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #175 of 1,400 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went there for our anniversary. I had always wanted to go and was not disappointed. We went on a Monday evening, so it was not too busy. Our waitress was very attentive and the food was very good. We ordered the four course meal and decided that was way too much food and money, however. Next time, we will skip the meat part and just get the cheese, salad and dessert. It's a great place for a long, relaxing dinner. You wouldn't want to go if you were in a hurry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    65
    40
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Evening Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Here's the deal. You go to The Melting Pot to enjoy a relaxed, long meal with several courses. Expect to actually have to have conversation with each other over dinner and enjoy the moment. If you go with this mentality, you will have a fabulous time. Our meal lasted almost 3 hours and our 8 and 10 year old were never bored, enjoyed waiting for each course, and had a ball cooking in the fondue pots. The cheese, meat, and chocolate courses are all excellent, as is the service. Yes, it is somewhat pricey, but given that they are not turning and burning tables, it has to be. And, heck, what do you expect when you eat on The Plaza anyway? Try the Melting Pot. With a relaxed attitude, you will love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDJD911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun experience, Service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my brother's 60th birthday yesterday; it was our first time to eat fondue. Our party of five had a fun experience with the 4- course meal (took approximately 3 hours). The food was good and we would return for a special occasion again sometime (bill came to $200).

Two suggestions for improving their service : the waiter needed to be more attentive - we had to ask for drink refills and we ran out of cooking bouillon and dipping batter. We had to wait for awhile for the waiter to come to the table so we could request those things. He was very courteous; he just needed to check in with us more frequently to ask if we needed anything. (There were very few patrons because of the weather on this particular day).

Secondly, when instructions are given for cooking the entree, those need to be written on a small card. So much cooking information was given at once and at the same time as a description of the 6 dipping sauces that it was impossible to remember it all. Also, we had 2 Smartphones at the table we could use for timing the cooking, but it would be helpful if each guest could be given a small timer to use for their own cooking.

We would recommend it for special occasions. Just allow enough time for a leisurely meal if you do 4 courses. And tell your waiter you'd like for him to check back with you every 10 minutes or so to see if you need anything.

Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not Now What It Was Then ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our great memories of what this restaurant used to be - and the experience of dining there - were brought into the 21st Century by our family dinner here. No reason to detail all the failings here ... Draggy service by an overloaded server ... Small food servings ... A periodic faint odor of sewer gas ... All sad indicators of that which is now being well removed from that which was then ...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Nice place for a romantic night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I ate here for a special night out recently. It was a good choice.

The service has always been top notch every time we have eaten here, and this was no exception. Drinks were refilled quickly, and the waitress always seemed to be there when we needed something, but not overbearing.

The food is very good. It is quite a novelty to get to cook some of the food yourself, and all including chocolate covered fruit, rice krispy treats, as well as the main course and desert were all fantastic. This is a great place to go for a romantic night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing