We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good steak house”
Review of Golden Ox Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

Golden Ox Restaurant and Lounge
Price range: $30 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 16th
Transit: The Twelfth Street Bus has a stop directly in front of the restaurant.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
596 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“very good steak house”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our hotel had a $5 off coupon and said it was very good place to eat. Easy to find. Went on a Sunday night around 6pm, not busy at all. Service was great, food very good. The inside looks better than the outside. A little pricey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firebear1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Old School, but still good”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Golden Ox was recommended to us as an old school restaurant that simply must be experienced. And it was. The food was delicious, the service was top notch. I only wish that the decor and atmosphere had managed to either keep up with the times or stay fresh in its commitment to keeping the dining room maintained in a different era. You cannot however find any fault with the staff who were clearly passionate about the restaurant, Kansas City, and your experiences. Very professional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank con_corazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, OH
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“worn out”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Food was good, not outstanding, service was good, not outstanding. The restaurant looks like it has seen better days.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank swet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good food and service!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My family and I enjoyed dinner here. We walked around the restaurant after our meal looking at all the historic pictures of the stockyards area. Be sure to look at the 1963 menu and prices near the front door. Our steaks were very good. Prices are reasonable for a steakhouse. My husband grew up in Kansas City and has fond memories of the Golden Ox restaurant. The atmosphere here is warm and cozy. We'll be back next time we're in Kansas City!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great local steakhouse”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great to dine at a stand alone, locally owned restaurant - these wonderful establishments are becoming more and more difficult to find.
The service from Paul was excellent - very attentive-
but not too much,
This establishment is very old-from the late 40's I believe-with a rich historic past -enjoy the wonderful pictures of days gone by - a true look back at the history of the Kansas City stockyard area.
The food was just great - I had the filet and it was perfectly cooked and the meat was fresh as was the excellent salad and the yummy cheese potatoes - very generous portions - truly a great example of a fine Kansas City steak.
Everyone who enjoys a great steak and a look back at an important part of Kansas City history needs to visit here - you will be glad you did.
If you live in the suburbs of Kansas City - it is so worth the drive to help keep an independent steakhouse in business and enjoy a great meal - pass it on to your friends!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Ox Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing