We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst dining experience I ever had”
Review of Golden Ox Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

Golden Ox Restaurant and Lounge
Price range: $30 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 16th
Transit: The Twelfth Street Bus has a stop directly in front of the restaurant.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worst dining experience I ever had”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Five of us went to the Golden Ox February 9,2013, to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant was chosen because of its history and from some recommendations. Our steaks were dry and tough; not a drop of juice could be extracted. My sister's filet mignon was so small as to be ridiculous as well as being so tough she did not even finish it. The potatoes were cold, and the caesar salad had almost no dressing. Our waitress was so rude. When we asked about a dish someone was served at another table she replied, "I don't know, that's not my table!" And this food was not cheap; $26.95 for a tough filet mignon about the size of a 50 cent piece, cold potato, and sorry salad. What a joke! The women's restroom was filthy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lora_arlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

i came here over 20 years ago and it was the benchmark for how i have judged every steak from that point forward. couldn't wait to go back during my visit to KC. what happened? the Ox used to be THE standard for steak! only one other table this night (Sunday) tonights steak was cooked waaaay too looooong...any GOOD grill man knows you cook a steak fast and hot. had the kc strip... they managed to take a disappointingly average quality steak and make it even less appealing by practically slow roasting it. tough, no crust or seer...over cooked though on the inside. cheesy potatoes where just GREASY potatoes and not appetizing. salad was on the verge of being old..several rotten pieces of lettuce...if youre gonna serve salad from a bag, at least pay attention to the date/expiration. nothing special or exceptional about the Ox any more other than the premium prices! the golden Ox is no better than the golden corral anymore. should have just left the ox as a fond memory. sad sad sad :-(

Helpful?
1 Thank travelnowandagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Old time steakhouse, great bar!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want to pick the place part for being an older looking place with some wear and tear, go ahead, but you can't say The Golden Ox doesn't serve an excellent steak at a fair price! In addition, they know how to mix and serve drinks, their service is really great and friendly...it's just a damn good steakhouse!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing, ks
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Steak House in Kansas City”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Golden Ox is without a doubt the best steak house in a town known for its steaks. This is one of the original steak houses close to the old stock yards. Not only historical but without a doubt a must visit for locals and visitors alike. The service is awesome and the food simply fantastic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe_kansas_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Full of History but Food will Disappoint”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The history alone of this restaurant makes it worthy of a trip. However, do not plan on being wowed by the food. We ordered the Golden Ox Combo platter to get started. The burnt ends were very good but smothered in BBQ sauce. Would have been nice to be able to taste the meat. The tavern cheese dip was good but cold when it was brought to the table. Something a litte more inspiring for the chips rather than out of the bag Tostitos would have been nice. The drummies were not drummmies at all but pre-frozen chicken tenders in a little wing sauce, the onion rings were frozen. Plenty of food but not worth $24.

I ordered the Blue Ribbon Ribeye medium rare, it came medium well. I sent it back and they could not find the cook to prepare another one. When they did, the one prepared was raw to rare and was grey in color with no crusting at all. Sent it back again and they at least got it pretty close to medium rare. The steak itself was unflavorable and rather tough for a ribeye. The asparagus that came with the steak was ice cold by the time they finally got a steak prepared. They should have brought out fresh.

On their website, they say they cook over an 1800 degree charcoal broiler. Since you can see the broiler from the dining room, I can confidently say this supposed broiler is little more than a charcoal grill that does not get anywhere neare 1800 degrees. If it did, the steaks would be have the appropriate char but still be cooked properly in the center. Also, one would think they would sizzle a bit when put on the fire, but they do not. The cook did not seem to have a clue as to how to prepare a steak. The manager finally went back to show him.

The two really good items were the Manahattens were huge and made just right. They also have Neal Family Vineyard, 2007 Cab that is incredible and at $80/bottle, about as cheap as I have ever seen it in a restaurant.

Our server was very attentive and fun. He tried hard to get this all straightened out.

Glad I went one time but will not be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Ox Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing