We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always The Best !!!!!”
Review of Golden Ox Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

Golden Ox Restaurant and Lounge
Price range: $30 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 16th
Transit: The Twelfth Street Bus has a stop directly in front of the restaurant.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always The Best !!!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great KC strip, big salad and service beyond compare. Bet my drink never got below half way at
any time.

Smell when I walked in was breath taking and steak was cooked to perfection !!!

Sure was not a "Walmart" steak for sure !!!!!!

Since my first visit in 1978, only once has the dinner not been good, last week it was GREAT !!!

Only distraction, prices were quite pricy for the portion.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best Steaks in KC”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I first visited The Golden Ox in 1976 while attending the American Royal. For the past six years I have visited the Ox every fiver or six weeks while on business in KC. The atmosphere and history of the stockyards is something you won't find anywhere else. Steve and Bill the owners and Mike & Willie the hosts go out of their way to make your dining experience the best. You can see your steak being seared on the 1500 degree wood fired grill right in the middle of the dining room. I choose the KC Strip or the Filet. Either is superb. Chris, Springer and the other servers are the best. I know the P &L has fancier and more expensive places but for your money you won't get any better than The Golden Ox

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quiet atmosphereA little 60's, but that is alright”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We went there for a birthday party for a grand daughter. They could not have done more. Lighting the cake serving it and boxing it up afterwards. They managed to cut it so that her name was still there after everyone had been served.We had a trainee, it took a littel whiie for the salads to arrive but after that everything was right on time. Teh water coffee and ice tea glasses were never empty. It was a great experience and the steaks were huge and cooked just right.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nighthawk779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Kansas City Cowboy Decor”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

It is decorated in 1950s cowboy images, so it's fun. Even the carpets have branding signs. Ordered grilled shrimp that were at the same time burned and uncooked with too strong a smoke flavor. Scotch and soda was ordered before I could ask for a brand of scotch, and the bar choice they made without me was poor. Steaks, their reputation is based on them, were Delmonico and Ribeye. One was ordered medium well, the other medium rare. Both came out exactly the same, roughly medium rare. The baked potato must have been not from yesterday but from yester-yesterday, with a blackened skin and deeply brown potato inside the skin, yellow cheese, sour cream, bacon all in little buckets were most unappealing. All in all, quite poor from start to end. Even the crackers wrapped in plastic were stale; by the time we tried them, we were not surprised.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniVidiFrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heaven on a plate!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We went with a group of 14 adults. We did have a reservation, but like with some restaurants where they set your tables up until you get there, golden ox did not. They had everything ready for us when we walked in the door. Waiter and waitress we had were amazing (sorry, can't remember their names)! Now, to the food! Talk about a piece of heaven! I ordered the prime rib with a baked potato. It came with choice of soup or salad-I'm usually a salad girl, but chose the soup of the day-lobster bisque. It was so delicious that I finished the entire bowl! When the main course arrived, my steak was the size of my plate!! My husband laughed at me and said that it was too much for me, since I'm only 120 lbs soaking wet! Any who, when I went to cut the steak, no knife was needed it just melted under my fork. I took one bite, and was hooked! I didn't even partake in any conversations, I just devoured my entire 12 oz prime rib, and didn't touch the potatoe! We had 3 drinks a piece(him beer, and me pineapple and Malibu), he got a ribeye and the total bill was a little over $90! I couldn't believe it! I'm ready to go back right now! Definitely worth the money!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommyof2gurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Ox Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing