We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Experience !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tomfooleries Restaurant & Bar

Tomfooleries Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #118 of 1,400 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An Experience !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

A Fun Place to dine with great food !!!! A Kansas Strip Steak Special on a Thursday night was tops... Their menu is varied offering Salmon, Chicken Caesar Salads, Burgers etc...... On Sunday's they offer a Bloody Mary buffet that is unreal... They supply a wide range of ingredients and you create your own Bloody Mary !!! Staff and service was excellent... Just another of many interesting and varied food experiences to be had on the Country Club Plaza if you are a family or single...!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    87
    33
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PLACE TO STOP WHEN IN THE PLAZA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been visiting the Plaza area for years and we always make sure to stop here. Great atmosphere, good service and awesome bloody mary bar on Sunday's! The food is good and so are the drinks. Only downfall is the didn't have Bud Select 55. But that's okay, I made another beer work for me. Also kid friendly for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Queso burger is a must have!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I used to live in KC and recently was there for a weekend visit. I remembered going to Tomfoolerie's and wanted to take my friends there, too. It was just as good as I remembered. The menu is unique and offers the standard bar food in addition to some interesting options. My favorite (and I was glad to see still on the menu) was the queso burger. It is a regular burger topped with tortilla chips and queso. This was one of the best burgers I ever had. In fact, my friends wanted to go back the next day to have another one. There are healthy options as well, including the Thai chicken. If you have a sweet tooth, make sure to check out the dump truck ice cream sundae...but make sure you split it with at least 4 people! This is a fun bar and a unique place to just hang out while in KC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank candymr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Tom's is fine. But they sometimes yell at you.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I loved Toms because my roommate and I would go there and play giant Jenga! Tonight a mean man in a blue shirt yelled at us for playing and told us to put the game away. Don't put Jenga blocks out and then yell at your customers for playing! GESH! It was weird and awkward, so we left. Other than that the food/other people were fine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills, Kansas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a surprisingly good choice for a Sunday Brunch. I had only considered Tomfooleries to be a bar with typical bar food, but I must be wrong. The Sunday Brunch buffet was excellent. Being able to order a custom omelet on a card at the table was wonderful. The breakfast and lunch entrees were both excellent with an amazing selection of both.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DM335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomfooleries Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tomfooleries Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing