We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come for the experience, not for the food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fritz's Railroad Restaurant

Fritz's Railroad Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 1,400 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belleville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Come for the experience, not for the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My hubby and I have two train lovin' kids, so we of course had to have a meal here. We've been to several train-themed restaurants in the Chicago area, including the Choo-Choo Cafe, which I think is the one who originated the concept. That one, and most others, have their food-delivery trains at table/counter level; at Fritz's, they travel overhead. Not sure why, and I don't think I prefer it.

There's phones at each table that you use to call in your order. Again, I don't know why that's necessary. A waitress brings the beverages (as opposed to the train) and that's about the only time you'll have any kind of personal service. The food... well, it's not great. But you're not coming for the food, you're coming for the trains.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    215
    132
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very kitschy and fun atmosphere, greasy food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Food delivered by trains that circle the restaurant make for a very interesting environment and is a home run for kids! The food is good diner type burgers, a bit greasy. The chili is to die for, with all the cholesterol you just might!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsErinAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
204 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Kids love it; Meh on the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located in Kansas City's beautiful Crown Center, Fritz's Railroad Restaurant most amazing featuer is the unique manner in which food is delivered... more on that later. Fritz's is a family owned business, which we generally prefer over big box chain stores. The restaurant was busy, but the line moved quickly. The staff were helpful without being pushy. Food is delivered, literally, via small railroad engines on a system designed by the original owner. Kids (and adults) will enjoy watching their train come around the track to bring their meal. Unfortunately, the food doesn't live up to this spectacle... in a word, its OK. Given how Fritz's is a hit with children, we would return again... but not for the food. BTW - makes a good day trip in combination with the Legoworld or Sea Life Aquarium. Both attractions are less than a 5 minute walk from the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 101jumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This eating joint is a must for little kids! Simple fast food type of menu. Great place to take kids. You call in your order on the phone at the table and the train brings the food to your table. Really fast and really cheap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A necessity with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food is good for what it is - don't expect fine dining. But the experience for kids is unparalleled. Don't miss it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank landiiiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fritz's Railroad Restaurant also viewed

Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Fritz's Railroad Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing