We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the happy hour.”

McCormick & Schmick's
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 1,424 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pennsylvania
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love the happy hour.”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Happy hour as good as usual. Great food at a great price. Portion size is great. They are always packed but the bartenders keep up.

Drinks and orders are taken care of by the servers. But food comes out of the kitchen by runners. Either the kitchen prep or the runners were off the afternoon we visited. One order of mussels had no fork for pluckingthe meats out but the second order did. Shrimp came with dipping sauce once but not again. Maybe we aren't supposed to notice, but our table of friends just kept ordering so we did notice.

Drinks are strong, food is tasty, and the atmosphere under the dome is great. This place will stay on our list of favorites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    126
    60
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Food was very good, priced about right for the food. Scallops with crab-potato hash was very good! Drinks a little high for not very "stiff". My Petron maragarita was very "blah" for $11. You MUST get the Chocolate Sack dessert!!!!!! I saw people dressed from jeans with holes to suits, but most were slacks or jeans with a jacket.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great place!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great seafood! Had to wait quite awhile before we saw the waiter and the place didn't seem that busy. Came here for lunch on a weekday with a friend. Tables around us seemed to be getting more attention than we were. Food was great but not impressed with the service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KansasWildcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good fish lunch.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The lunch we had there was delicious, the service good, and the atmosphere outstanding. Just be sure to find the elevator unless you like climbing steps!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank realter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My favorite fish restaurant on the Plaza”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've never been disappointed here. The fish is always beautifully prepared & presented. Great service - attentive & knowledgable. Nice bar. Their "Chocolate Bag" is a decadent treat (we share it - it's very rich). The prices are average for a nice restaurant. The view from the windows is pleasant. Love the beautiful stained glass skylights and dark wood paneling. We had a romantic dinner, but we've brought our kids here, too. And it's full of business people at lunch or right after work. The fish and seafood taste fresh -- but this is the midwest; all seafood has to be frozen to get here. The difference is how it's prepared to taste fresh.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishmama34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's also viewed

 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing