We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeeee-licious burgers”

Hayes Hamburger & Chili
Ranked #321 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
173 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Deeeee-licious burgers”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The burgers may be small, but the flavor is huge. Fresh made in front of you so no heat lamps and warmers.
Nothing special on the burger, just salt pepper and onions.
Chef Tom was an artist in his craft.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I just don't understand the appeal......”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Really? Can someone tell me why this place exists? HORRIBLE food, HORRIBLE waitstaff, HORRIBLE! The burgers are nothing to brag about and the "steak" sandwich, please. The chili wasn't good at all! Come on......I think this is one of those places that people love because of nostalgia. My son and I had dinner and were extremely disappointed. I gave it a second chance thinking the night we went, their cook was having a bad day or it just wasn't a good night. Wrong! I wasted another $20! I am not a big fan of KC food. Even the BBQ isn't that good but this place takes the cake! Avoid at all costs!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becca77053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

I hadn't been to this place in over 20 years, it's still the same great place I remember. The food is the same and the service is good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, MO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hayes Hamburgers - KC, MO”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is just a small place located north of the river, but they are "always" busy. If you like hamburgers or chili, that is the place to go.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank brneyes5925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“LOVE this hole in the wall!”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Bring your cash because that's all they accept! My family has been coming to this spot for years! I recommend their little burgers with grilled onions (and I don't even like onions.) YUM!

Helpful?
Thank johnson062610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hayes Hamburger & Chili also viewed

 

Been to Hayes Hamburger & Chili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing