We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Kansas City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,406 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 47th
Description: In the heart of Country Club Plaza and the mind of the true steak aficionado. The “city of fountains” is overflowing with luck as it is also the city of our dry aged, hand cut beef. Come see why one Ingram’s critic wrote, “I was speechless.” Two new private dining rooms now give you a grand choice of five in which to be speechless yourself.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Kansas City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Every time I go to the Capital Grille I have a great experience! It never disappoints. it is pricy, but well worth it. Make sure to try a Stoli Doli.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becky371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    102
    45
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good, but I have seen better service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Normally, when in KCMO (plaza) we eat at Ruth Chris, but we wanted to try something different. Overall it was great, but compared to Ruth's, you really can't compare. At least now we know. Service was slow, and inconsistent... Food was exceptional. Ruth's still has the edge on steaks. They did, however, make it extra special for my Wife's birthday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rangermp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Incredible service makes the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food here is very good. However, what distinguishes the Capital Grille is that service is amazing. Service was prompt and appropriate, never obsequious. They want to be sure that everyone goes away happy. I'm sure you will too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
182 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you have never had dry-aged steak you are in for a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

After having dry-aged steak at Frankie and Johnny's in New York, I wanted it again here at home. Not very many restaurants offer dry-aged. The Capital Grille is an elegant restaurant - everything about it is top-notch. Great steak and the best cheesecake I've had (and I'm not even a cheesecake fan). The service is perfect. Nice quiet atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OkobojiChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Business dinner was excellent the Sea Bass was very tasty and the attentive wait staff made the evening a real pleasure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing