We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time once we were there. Horrible party planners and no management followup” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howl At The Moon

Howl At The Moon
Ranked #3 of 68 Nightlife in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Howl at the Moon Kansas City is the hottest spot in the Power and Light District! Our high-energy dueling pianos and amazing events make us the coolest spot for Kansas City nightlife! From company functions to happy hour with friends to bachelorette parties in Kansas City, the party is always at Howl at the Moon come and see us.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Time once we were there. Horrible party planners and no management followup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I won a party and we had a great time. The only compliant I have is that I tried to reserve tables before. I left three message and two emails with no response. Called the general manager the day of event because I still had not heard from anyone and still got no return call. Very disappointing!!! We only went because it was free with that kind of customer service that is the only way we would go again. By the way I came with 52 ppl!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We went here with two other couples. When we arrived, the place wasn't too busy, but got more crowded as the evening went on. Our server was good and prompt. We had beer or wine. Fair prices. When we arrived, there were two pianists. Playing together tonight, not dueling. They encouraged requests, with a dollar bill, and encouraged audience participation - which was good. The two were joined by a third on the drums, and at times, a fourth on guitar. All of the first three would rotate from piano to piano to drums or guitar. All were excellent musicians, good singers, and great at getting the crowd involved.
It was very interactive and fun. There was quiet a variety of patrons - this was during the Big 12 basketball tournament. Fans from various colleges, wide range of ages - from college age to senior citizens. All seemed to have a good time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scribner, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went on a Saturday night for a big show. Had 5 artists on stage. They rotated between 2 pianos, drums, bass guitar, etc. All good vocalists and even better musicians. My wife is pregnant and I don't drink, so can't speak to the drink menu but the atmosphere and performance I'm sure make up for it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kpc4282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great venue for live music but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Fantastic, fun and lively atmosphere - dueling piano's brilliant.
And if the place served up some food it would be great - better than having
orders for pizza brought in and no where to put it - pizzas are bigger than the tables!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreamonmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Indiana
Level Contributor
494 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Outragious must see fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Went their with a small group of 30 friends. Enjoyed the BBQ and drinks before entertainment started. The fun really started when the dueling pianos started. Audience participation was encouraged and times were wild. Had to stay until closing, no excuses accepted for leaving early. Arrive early and no cover, but by ~7 (?) PM cover to enter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChiefGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howl At The Moon also viewed

 

Been to Howl At The Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing