We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European comfort food goes upscale”
Review of Affare

Affare
Reserve with OpenTable
Affare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: German, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 19th Avenue
Transit: Max stop in front of restaurant
Description: Modern German cuisine and a great wine and cocktail list! Affäre supports local farmers and family-owned, biodynamic wineries. Wine Wednesday: Free wine tasting every week from 5-7! Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10-2:30: enjoy Endless Mimosas for $10! Courtyard seating and Private Dining available. Great lounge and bar, offering seasonal cocktails and spirits from craft distilleries. Great beer selection!
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“European comfort food goes upscale”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you've ever been to a German bakery and miss the pretzels like crazy, buckle up. Those are the "bread" they bring our while you're waiting on your meal. Already we knew this was going to be good. "Entrees" are really more like small plates, so order at least one more to share or a couple apiece. Also, here's a great place to be a little adventurous. The dishes are upscale twists on traditional German cuisine, so you really can't go wrong. It's a bit pricy and the atmosphere is a bit lacking since it's really just one big room, but you won't notice anything but the food in front of you once your meal arrives. A great addition to the KC culinary scene, definitely something to try.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GLKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    31
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upscale German with Great Vibe”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

What do you get when you blend a 3 course German meal + limited barrel production wine + a fine greeting from the owner in a cool, hip atmosphere? Arguably one of the best restaurants in Kansas City. This place was memorable. My wife had the weinerschnitzel (sp?) followed by a classic struedel. Her cocktail was divine and evidently they hired a fab mixologist! My friend and I both ordered the elk, perfectly cooked followed by german chocolate cake.

I may be there monthly if I can bring my own wine with the understandable corkage fee. :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I love it!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a wonderful surprise! This resturant has it all!
They call it modern German but I call it fabulous
Small plates of the most eye appealing, delicious food I have had in Kansas city!
The waiter was very helpful explains the German words for us. We laughed alot!
This is definitely worth trying. Prices fit the quality of the food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smollyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Contemporary German Cuisine”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I lived in Munich, Germany, in 1985-86. All I can say is German cuisine has come a long way since then. What I experienced at Affäre was sophisticated, complex tastes, but always balanced and very delicious (how does edible dirt grab you?). The portions are tapas-sized so one can sample something from each category without busting the gut or the bank. I especially recommend the elk loin; it was spectacular. The wine list is very carefully chosen and reasonably priced. The Pearl Aquarium cocktails was quite tasty. You won't be disappointed by a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_Holecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, MO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hip but posh white tablecloth gem!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stumbled across this somewhat hard to find joint for lunch May 31, 2012 - what a treat! A simple menu with a salad-esque section, seafood variation section, and a hoof & fowl section. We had a seafood pasta and a lamb tagine - both rocked. Serving sizes were moderate to moderate-plus (no wretched excess). The apple strudel was in such a delicate pastry you could pretend it was light.
And the ambience - we are going back in the evening for sure. Simple but oh so tasteful decor, great bar area, acoustics seemed well controlled given the open space.
Not such a great place for kids, I'd think, but for date night? Wow!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WestonMOCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Affare also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Affare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing