We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”

LEGOLAND Discovery Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.98*
and up
LEGOLAND® Discovery Center Kansas City Admission Ticket
Ranked #27 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Westmoreland, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My son loves Legos so we went Friday after lunch while we were in KC. The prices were not posted, and we had to wait in line so we could ask. No one would take the time to answer a question unless it was our turn. The one family in front of us got a season pass which took a looooong time and then the computer crashed. After waiting 15 minutes, another line was finally opened. I was shocked at the prices. We got inside just to wait in line 45 minutes to ride a laser shooting ride. The ride was short and pitiful. The models of KC were interesting - for 2 seconds. The huge bin of legos interested my son for a little longer (10 minutes). As I set there, I got to watch the other kids put legos in their mouth, pick their noses, and throw legos. The 4D movie was pretty lame. My son was too tall to go in the playland. There was no way on earth was he going to go willingly to the pink karako area. Listening to the karako as we passed was painful. We waited in line 30 minutes to go on the last ride which was not that great. The food is so overpriced it's ridiculous. The Legoland place was pretty small. DO NOT GO!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reedcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    246
    190
    74
    52
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smaller than I expected”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I took my 2 year old daughter here recently, and though she enjoyed herself while there, I was disappointed with how small the was inside. There wasn't much for younger kids my daughters age...so if she wouldn't have been happy with the slide and lego pits it would have been a total fail!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank c_bear311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Major letdown”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We just went on our second visit to this Legoland. Our second experience was much, much worse than our first. This time around, the computers were down so they weren't letting any if us with confirmation numbers on mobile devices in, despite that the confirmation email said there wasn't a need to print. A man named Darren was up front and was being a complete butt about it, only allowing people with printed confirmations in, even ones scheduled for later time slots, because apparently writing down numbers with a good old fashioned pen and paper isn't something he could manage. He was extremely rude also. Once he finally figured out how to write down conf numbers and let us in, the lady in the next room wouldn't let us proceed without a receipt- which NO ONE entering had due to the computers being down. Derp! You're one room away- communicate!

We finally got in an started through to find the place dirty and with many broken items. There's a walk-through room with some local city scenes built that have interactive parts but most of those were broken. Two out of the six laser guns our group used in the ride were broken.

And all this for a super high price! What a rip off. Should you decide you're hungry while there, prepare yourself. The food prices are stupid-high. As if getting in wasn't enough! And then, if you want, you can buy pictures of yourself doing things in there for like $12 each.

Needless to say, we will never be back. From start to finish, this was a terrible experience. Oh, no, wait- the gift shop at the end was ok. So there's that at least.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Took Oldest there for Birthday”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The price was a little steep for what was there. The kids enjoyed it. One ride we went on broke half way through ride. We didn't go back to it. The Cafe prices were steep almost worse than a major amusement park. Recommend leaving and getting hand stamp and come back later or eat before you go depending time you go in.The 4d movie was good the kids really enjoyed it. If I had to do again I probably wouldn't unless I got a super discount. The overall place was not very big could do all the stations and a couple twice and be finished in a couple hours or less.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank famtravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun for entire family”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great addition to crown center and the downtown area
Take your kids and you will also have fun.
The miniature lego room of KC was amazing

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllenBurnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEGOLAND Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to LEGOLAND Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing