We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Hotel, best for stopovers or late minute stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK Hotel, best for stopovers or late minute stays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

When we checked in it was at 1am to a completely beater scraggly-
[---] room with broken bath fixtures. The next morning I said something to the desk and we were upgraded to an awesome suite that had 2 TV's, a whirlpool tub, microwave & fridge. whoa.

But dear god, there is NOTHING around this place! You have to drive 15 minutes for ANYTHING (seriously, no joke). If you leave, make sure its for the whole day, or you will drive yourself nuts coming and going from here.

  • Liked — how we were immediately accomodated when problems were brought to attention
  • Disliked — how an awful, beater room was even given to us in the first place
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madcapgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    178
    100
    38
    25
See reviews for
86
102
60
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

The front desk staff at this hotel was fantastic. Very cheerful--even bought us a drink!

But I can't be swayed by mere alcohol. The room was very clean, and the beds the 4points have are nice & comfy. Free high speed internet access, a computer with a printer near the front desk to print out your boarding pass. The room has an iron & ironing board, the shower curtain is the style that rounds out so it doesn't press against you. Nice towels.

Clean, comfortable, quiet, close to the airport, free parking, nice staff, great rates. This is a solid place that I would definitely stay at--it's set up for those road warriors.

Only negative -- the restaurant is not great. My steak, ordered rare, came out medium well. Unforgivable in Kansas city. And while the waitress was confused by my order of a Maker's Mark Manhattan, the bar tender made a great drink. And they have lots of types of beers. Food is just ok--I'd drive down to another area if you want good food. But if you're tired, you'll get a good drink, a good beer, ok food, and you'll be well cared for.

While this is not a resort hotel, you're not paying for that. But very well managed.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable with very pleasant staff
  • Disliked — overcooked steak
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smcg720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

I spent three nights at the hotel for an event at the nearby KCI Expo Center. The walk over isn't bad at all, though like the review below noted, for events there the Holiday Inn would probably be the first choice since it's right next door, whereas the Four Points is across from the back side of the expo center.

Overall, the property seemed okay to me. The exterior looks a bit dated but the inside was fine. I was on the fifth floor (signed as a Starwood Preferred Guest floor), about as far from the lobby as you can get but it wasn't too bad. I need the exercise, anyway. ;) The bed was comfortable and the free wifi worked reasonably well both in the room and in Tanner's. The air conditioner was an in-wall unit, and while it looked relatively new, it was rather loud.

As noted below, there's not much else around within walking distance. As far as eating goes, you're limited to the hotel restaurants (I ate at both this hotel and the Holiday Inn and heard the Radisson next door has one as well; don't know about the other nearby hotels) and the expo center cafeteria. Beyond that you'll either need to drive or call someplace for delivery.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hawaiian717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

During our stay here for a convention stay at the nearby KCI Expo Center (easy 5 minute walk from property) our initial impressions upon arrival at this property was yikes!

This property recently underwent some renovations that converted it into a Four Points, the main beef with this property is that they apparently ran out of money and only completed the upgrades to the rooms, lobby and Tanners Bar/Restaurant. The hallways, pool area and exterior facade of this property really give the impression of completely different target market.

The rooms are compact, by very clean and feature the standard comfortable Sheraton bed and bedding. The room I was placed was on the first floor, adjacent to th elevator, ice machine, maids room and exit. Not to mention the ceramic tile floor outside my room makes a very unique sound when the airline crews start departing around 5am. Make sure you do not get these rooms.

The pool area features very spartan surroundings, only two tables with umbrellas, a few chairs. The amount of sun this pool area gets likely makes this venue uncomfortable during the baking summer days KCI is known for.

The only dining options in the area is the onsite Tanners Bar & Grill, we were quite impressed with the entire staff of this onsite venue, the food is pretty run of the mill but the room is surrounded by many large televisions and would make a great venue to watch sporting events.

WARNING: There are NO other food or beverage venues near this property, the next available would be at Zona Rosa, a mixed use retail complex about 8 minutes (by car only) south of the property off I-29. This area features numerous options ranging from the high-end to family to McD's / Sonic / Wendys. This lack of food and beverage should weigh into your decision to stay at this property (or if you should rent a vehicle).

Parking: Numerous close in parking available, the lot may be rather snug for over-sized vehicles.

Review: Overall the rooms are fine for a day or two stay, excellent location to MCI and area expressways make a good stop over property. This is a good back-up is you have a event at KCI Expo Center (however if you can get into the much newer Holiday Inn that is the path I would take).

  • Liked — Access to MCI
  • Disliked — Limited surroundings
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiscomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

I booked this room through priceline and as the saying goes "you get what you paid for". I was on the 1st floor across the hall from the ice machine and maids closet. We were also near the exit so people were constantly coming in and out the door, and getting ice. In the morning the noise from housekeepers got us up early. Our room had a few problesm the tub was not clean, the ice bucket had water in it and we found a used coffee filter in the coffee maker. I have stayed at other Sheraton hotels so I know this is not usual. I'm not much of a complainer but the coffee filter thing was the last straw. I was give 3 passes for the breakfast buffett for me and my children Overall the hotel is nice, the staff was friendly just be warned that you might get an undesirable room.

  • Liked — internet service
  • Disliked — room location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zoezackmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

We stayed over at Four Points for two (2) nights. It was comfortable but there was construction being done on several areas including the resturant. We did eat breakfast one morning and it was over-priced for a breakfast buffet $10.95 (with no selection) -- the day before we went to Mimi's Cafe in Zona Rosa (10 minutes away) and that was the same price and MUCH better food and service.

The front desk at this hotel was very helpful and seemed to really know the area --- I actually saw a front desk worker help a patron of the hotel over the phone in giving directions over a 10 minute conversation -- very good service.

It is only 30 minute ride to downtown Kansas City if you drive Rte. 29/71 to 635. A great location for those doing a short stop-over in Kansas City or someone who needs easy access to the airport.

Not recommended for those who really want to get a feel of Kansas City as there is nothing but hotels and the airport in the general area.

  • Liked — Front desk was helpful. Free parking. Free Internet in the lobby.
  • Disliked — Pool was closed. Restaurant was BAD.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beckar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2007

So this hotel has gone from fair to outstanding! The completely have redone everything and it is great. The lobby is beautiful, the hallways, the rooms, etc. Especially the rooms, great furniture, a very business friendly desk and work area, free bottled water, free internet, great toiletries. Also, the staff was more than accommodating and friendly. I highly suggest this hotel and I can verify that at least in this hotel the photos on-line match what the hotel looks like! When business bring me back to KC, I will be sure to stay here.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — You need a car as there is nothing and I mean nothing around this hotel.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 36000ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#38 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kansas City Airport-KCI East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#13 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kansas City Airport Marriott
Kansas City Airport Marriott
#50 of 108 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
Address: 11832 NW Plaza Cir, Kansas City, MO 64153-1110
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from Kansas City's airport, the Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport provides a relaxing and quiet environment for business travelers and layovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Kansas City Airport Hotel Kansas City
4 Points Kansas City Airport
Kansas City Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing