We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, rich, elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, prime location close to most of downtown venues. Only two blocks from P&L. Great gated parking lot. Beautiful colors and pure elegance. The reserve restaurant was amazing. Food was served on beautiful plating design and delicious. Recommendations for the sliders, chicken coq au vin, and mushroom ravioli. Enjoyed the stay in our king suite. Great shower, loved my make up table, robe, closet. Got cold but found a blanket in a drawer by tv. Mini bar great, room service was A+ and the Cadillac escalade shuttle service rocked. Loved our bed and breakfast package deal. Highly recommend this place! Will be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MrsDefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

What a pleasure to read your review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your Ambassador experience. I appreciate your comments regarding our wonderful décor, great accommodations, convenient location to the Power & Light district, and our excellent cuisine. I have shared them all with our staff, and of course, our chef Shaun. We appreciate having your business and look forward to future visits. Happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 475 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I came to KC for a surprise weekend for my birthday. The hotel is beautiful but there are some details that while not a huge deal in the end, certainly matter when asked to dish out the money per night that the Ambassador does.

Cons: the duvet cover had brown stains on it. Gross. The water pressure in the shower is pretty low.

The television channel line up has over 50 channels BUT our remote was only programmed for 10 channels. This meant looking at the channel line up card and manually inputting any channel outside of those 10 that we wanted to view. That didn't last long.

I woke up around 5am feeling kind of sick and wanted some juice. The mini bar is stocked with coke, sprite and energy drinks. The room service menu listed various juices for $4. At the bottom of the menu in small writing was a statement that a delivery fee of $3.50 AND 20% gratuity is added to each order. Thinking this was insane for ONE glass of juice, we called the front desk to see if both charges still applied to one $4.00 glass of juice? Yep, sure does. So we would have had to pay upwards of almost $9 for a glass of juice. No bueno. I know it's supposed to be a high end hotel but sticking guests for every little thing when they are already paying quite a bit to stay here is tacky.

The ventilation system for the heat is loud, overtakes the room.

Pros: staff at the bar and check in were very friendly.

The room itself is set up very nicely.

I do agree with a previous reviewer about the parking. What's the point of having "gated" parking if there is an unlocked pedestrian gate which allows ANYONE access to the cars??

Overall, nice hotel but for the money, I'll stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shootingstar283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay, feedback like you provided is very valuable for us to hear. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you encountered. I have shared your thoughts with out team and we will ensure we take the necessary steps to avoid this type of situation in the future. I hope you will contact me directly next time you decide to come to Kansas City, I would like you to experience the Ambassador Hotel again so you will have more favorable memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador because we attended a concert downtown at the Midland. We were so thrilled we did because we were very impressed with the room & bathroom...both quite large and very nice. If you are attending an event downtown, the location of this hotel is perfect because you can walk to all of the restaurants, it’s only a half block from the Sprint Center and a couple of blocks from the Midland Theater. The one perk the Ambassador offers is complimentary car service within six miles if where you are going isn’t in walking distance or the weather is bad. We definitely plan to stay at the Ambassador in future. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our luxurious accommodations guarantee our guests an experience of the highest quality, and we couldn't be more pleased knowing that this is the experience you were given. We are happy you enjoyed your spacious room, and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel! I think the only downside was no drink machines, I didn't want to pay $3 for a can of pop, and parking dis cost but it was a one time fee and you could come and go as you pleased. We were in the same floor as a bunch of girls that were quite loud but it wasn't too bad. The bathroom was big, the bed was like a cloud. I'm for sure staying here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShockMe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Ambassador Hotel of Downtown Kansas City. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. As you mentioned, there are no vending machines on the premises. However, in addition to the variety of mini bar items stocked in each guest room, 24/hour gourmet room service is also available to satisfy any late-night snack attacks. Regarding the level of noise near your room, I do apologize and I can assure you it will not be an issue again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here earlier this month while in MO for business. I chose this hotel since it is downtown, and I got a good rate for 2 nights. The front desk was very friendly, the room I stayed in on the 6th floor was very spacious and clean, and the lobby bar/restaurant was inviting.

My one criticism is that what they call a "fitness room" is barely a closet in the basement. It is about 6ft x 15ft and contains an elliptical, a treadmill, and a recumbent bike plus a few dumb bells and a TV. There is room for 3 guests to stare at each other while sweating and breathing heavily...so I worked out in my room, since it was twice the size :)

There is on-site parking in the adjacent lot for $15/night, and the Power & Light district is a few blocks away...if you like the touristy style restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to learn that our downtown location and reasonable rates influenced your decision to stay at the Ambassador Hotel. Being centrally located is a major perk, as many enticing shops, restaurants and attractions are merely minutes away. And with rates like ours, you get a lot of bang for your buck. I do, however, apologize if our fitness facility did not meet your expectations, as it is compact in size and equipped with the basics. If you have any needs or concerns during your next visit, do not hesitate to ask. Our staff will be more than happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I found this hotel while looking on a search engine for a downtown hotel near Power and Light. I loved the pictures of the décor so we decided to try it. We love this hotel! We stayed in a parlor suite which has a living room, bedroom, full bath (shower only, no bathtub) and a half bath. Upon entering the hotel lobby (which is small) the décor looks comfortable and inviting. The bar at the end of the lobby caught our attention immediately. There are different kinds of very comfortable and interesting seating areas in the bar/ restaurant area. It's a kind of hip but cozy atmosphere. The room was fantastic! I'm usually not a big fan of white leather couches but for some reason it really works. The bed was super comfortable and the linens soft. Having the two bathrooms is great. Our only complaint was that there were only two bath towels in the bathroom (I know, we could have asked for more but it would have been nice to have them there without asking). The hotel is a very short walk from the Sprint Center and the Power and Light district which is full of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. This is a completely non-smoking hotel which is nice. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: there are only 7 floors and we were on the 2nd. We will ask for a higher floor next time since we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlegto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am happy to hear you felt comfortable in the "hip but cozy" atmosphere of The Ambassador. Formerly a bank, this beautifully restored building is brimming with both old-world charm and modern appeal. I am also pleased to hear you stayed in the Parlor Suite, as it Is one of our most popular rooms. We do, however, have a larger suite if you find yourself wanting something a bit more luxurious during your next visit to Kansas City. Equipped with a kitchenette, dining area, 1 1/2 bathrooms, a living room and a master bedroom, our 2-story Loft Suite is truly exceptional.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Kansas City is one of my favorites places and I try a new hotel every time. The Ambassador was a very nice experience. The room service breakfast was fast and all small requests [ new iron ] were handled stat. The vibe is very hip and metropolitan with spacious rooms and a chic lobby. Had dinner there one night and it was wonderful along with a nice visit from the chef. The staff gets a A+ for friendliness !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skaalhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. It seems as though our objective to deliver the best customer service possible was met during your stay. Any request, no matter how big or small, is merely a phone call away. Our friendly staff is more than eager to assist you. I am also happy to hear you experienced the convenience of in-room dining, as well as our exquisite dinner menu in our restaurant, Reserve. Thank you, we hope you choose the Ambassador for your next Kansas City excursion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,129 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#21 of 109 in Kansas City
1,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Address: 1111 Grand Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64106-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $269 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic boutique hotel in Kansas City offering luxury accommodations and elegant public spaces. Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection is a premier space for business and leisure travel. Built in 1920, our seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. We invite you to stay with us and experience this exceptional place, which sits within minutes of the popular Sprint Center and Kansas City Power & Light District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing