We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location for entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location for entertainment”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I found this hotel while looking on a search engine for a downtown hotel near Power and Light. I loved the pictures of the décor so we decided to try it. We love this hotel! We stayed in a parlor suite which has a living room, bedroom, full bath (shower only, no bathtub) and a half bath. Upon entering the hotel lobby (which is small) the décor looks comfortable and inviting. The bar at the end of the lobby caught our attention immediately. There are different kinds of very comfortable and interesting seating areas in the bar/ restaurant area. It's a kind of hip but cozy atmosphere. The room was fantastic! I'm usually not a big fan of white leather couches but for some reason it really works. The bed was super comfortable and the linens soft. Having the two bathrooms is great. Our only complaint was that there were only two bath towels in the bathroom (I know, we could have asked for more but it would have been nice to have them there without asking). The hotel is a very short walk from the Sprint Center and the Power and Light district which is full of bars, restaurants and nightclubs. This is a completely non-smoking hotel which is nice. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: there are only 7 floors and we were on the 2nd. We will ask for a higher floor next time since we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlegto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am happy to hear you felt comfortable in the "hip but cozy" atmosphere of The Ambassador. Formerly a bank, this beautifully restored building is brimming with both old-world charm and modern appeal. I am also pleased to hear you stayed in the Parlor Suite, as it Is one of our most popular rooms. We do, however, have a larger suite if you find yourself wanting something a bit more luxurious during your next visit to Kansas City. Equipped with a kitchenette, dining area, 1 1/2 bathrooms, a living room and a master bedroom, our 2-story Loft Suite is truly exceptional.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    81
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
48
177
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
erie. penna
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Kansas City is one of my favorites places and I try a new hotel every time. The Ambassador was a very nice experience. The room service breakfast was fast and all small requests [ new iron ] were handled stat. The vibe is very hip and metropolitan with spacious rooms and a chic lobby. Had dinner there one night and it was wonderful along with a nice visit from the chef. The staff gets a A+ for friendliness !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skaalhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. It seems as though our objective to deliver the best customer service possible was met during your stay. Any request, no matter how big or small, is merely a phone call away. Our friendly staff is more than eager to assist you. I am also happy to hear you experienced the convenience of in-room dining, as well as our exquisite dinner menu in our restaurant, Reserve. Thank you, we hope you choose the Ambassador for your next Kansas City excursion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 15th anniversary after spending a few days at a family reunion. We were ready for some pampering and we got it at the Ambassador. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We felt like we were special. The room was amazing, the bed and linens were luxurious. The food and the bar were amazing! We utilized the car service a couple of time and our driver, Cassanova, was extremely polite and personable. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks for a memorable experience!

Room Tip: I think that we were in room 707. I would definitely recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Bar13-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for the incredible review. We are so grateful to have played a part in celebrating such a memorable occasion. Our goal at The Ambassador is to create a special experience for all of our guests, and it delights me knowing this was the experience you had. I will pass along your kind comments to our driver and staff respectively. We look forward to having you again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Checking out today after a three night stay for business. 1st time at this hotel and Ambassador property in general. Visit KC 3-4 times per year.

Great location on Grand, walking distance to many bars and restaurants. Did not rent a car so cannot speak to parking fees or ease. Checkin was seamless. Rooms (3) were ready upon arrival at 1 p.m. on a Monday.

Corner king for average rate of $233 per night. Room was spacious and well appointed. Bed was comfortable. Stayed on pet free floor(507) and web request for feather free pillows was honored and they were already in the room when I arrived. Large bathroom with huge walk in shower. Plenty of hot water and good pressure. Very quiet hotel as you barely see another guest and there is zero noise coming in from the outside.40 total rooms and they were near capacity most of my stay.

Reserve bar was very good and bar tenders were super friendly. Good top shelf selection and conversation. Breakfast from the Reserve via room service was decent. Not the best or worst I have eaten from a hotel restaurant.

Use of hotel car was a nice perk. They will drop off and pick up within 5 miles of hotel. We used this 4 times and it was quick and easy for each use. Other nice perks were two bottles of water daily, free wifi and no resort fee. Staff professionalland friendly at each encounter. They arranged our airport transportation and extended a late checkout with no issue.

If there were anything that prevented 5 starts it would be housekeeping. A previous guest must have spilled coffee on the nightstand and dripped down the wall and baseboard. It looks like it has been there for a while. Also, the drawer in the bathroom vanity was caked with "stuff" from previous guests. Didn't feel good about using it. Left a note on day two asking for extra large towels. Note was gone but no extra towels. Some training and attention to detail can remedy this fairly easily.

This will be our new "go to" when we stay in KC without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Ambassador Hotel. It pleases me knowing we were able to accommodate your early arrival and late check-out respectively. Although our standard check-in time is 3PM, and our standard check-out time is noon, we understand that certain situations arise where a room is needed outside of that timeframe. We do our best to accommodate those requests. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms, amenities, and that our friendly staff and services were to your satisfaction. Regarding our shuttle service, you are correct in stating that we will transport our guests within a 5-mile radius. For further destinations, our front desk staff is more than happy to arrange your choice of a town car or a taxi, as we work closely with a few local transportation companies. I do regret your experience with housekeeping, and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I have passed along your comments to the staff. I can assure you that this issue will not occur again.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Staying in this amazing hotel in the downtown has been really pleasent. The Hotel in brand new with huge rooms with new amenities. Gym was nice as well and open 24/7.
The hotel is located on the main aveanue in the city center but room seem well isolated and my stay was great.
Staff was ok and kind in suggesting me a great steak house for the night with a free shuttle service.

Room Tip: All rooms seems OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiM0StOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Ambassador. As you mentioned, we are centrally located downtown, yet our rooms are isolated from the noise and hubbub of the city. Great dining and entertainment are just blocks away, and our staff is more than happy to make suggestions as to where to go. Our complimentary shuttle service is also applicable to many of Kansas City's most popular destinations.
We hope you choose the Ambassador again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin, CA
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend before a business meeting. Outside look of hotel was a little worrisome at first but once you step inside you know it's what's inside that matters. Warm welcome from the staff, room was spacious and tastefully decorated, bathroom was large and modern. Lobby was also very clean and inviting with restaurant and bar easily accessible. Close enough to Power and Light district to walk to sand from the nightlife. Hotel also provided complimentary car service including down to the Plaza district.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MDHNorthTustin_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you were impressed by our modern, yet welcoming décor. We've worked hard to evoke a sleek, elegant environment that is also warm and inviting to our guests. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We rented out the full hotel for two nights over our wedding weekend and it was one of the best decisions we made. The service, staff and attention to detail was exceptional -- and our guests were completely comfortable. Most of them were from NY, Illinois, and California and visiting KC for the first time -- The Ambassador was perfect way to showcase KC charm. The planning process was easy and the sales team was quick to respond. Chef Shaun also helped us tailor special brunch menus and late night snacks over the weekend that our guests loved. Highly recommended for wedding festivities or just a trip to KC.

Room Tip: The corner king rooms are amazing -- or splurge for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. On behalf of the entire staff, we are so happy to have played a part in such a special celebration. I am glad we were able to make you and your guests feel at home, and I am especially pleased to read your comments about our executive chef, Shaun. A fairly new addition to the Ambassador, Shaun has brought several new dishes to our restaurant Reserve, comprised of fresh, local ingredients. We are so glad you enjoyed our brunch and late night snacks.

I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again during any future visits to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,082 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 109 in Kansas City
2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Property: Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Address: 1111 Grand Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64106-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic boutique hotel in Kansas City offering luxury accommodations and elegant public spaces. Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection is a premier space for business and leisure travel. Built in 1920, our seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. We invite you to stay with us and experience this exceptional place, which sits within minutes of the popular Sprint Center and Kansas City Power & Light District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing