We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding Customer Service from the Night Duty Front Desk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Customer Service from the Night Duty Front Desk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I visited this hotel for the first time and found it very clean, comfortable, and friendly. All of the staff are welcoming and pleasant. However, in my 13 years of 100% weekly travel and in the past 7 years some occassional business trips, I have never had service like Joe at the front desk provided on my first night. My two co-workers and I arrived very late and nothing was open for dinner. Joe provided menu's, hotel address for delivery, and contact information for a pizza place. The pizza place wasn't answering at 2 AM during the week even know they were supposed to be open until 3. Joe said, "Let me go back in the kitchen and make you guys some sandwiches; What would you like?" He had absolutely no obligation to do this. He really helped us out as we were starving and there was literally nothing open (believe me, we searched ourselves first). Joe is the kind of employee that makes the hotel. Beside being completed committed to his job, you can tell he just geniunely cares about people. Thanks Joe! When I'm back in KC, Ambassador is my place now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we are very proud of our team and the outstanding guest service they provide. Joe is one of our great team members and I very pleased he was able to make such an outstanding impression. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    68
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
42
148
16
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Tastefuly decorated in an historic building in downtown. I had a typically large room, bed and linens were excellent. Plenty of light streams into the room through large windows with both shears and blackout drapes. Just 2 blocks from the sprint center and the power and light district with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Easy access to freeways in case you're family or business is not downtown. There is a restaurant and bar right off the lobby. Excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salth2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team we hope to see you again soon and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenport, ia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beautifully decorated rooms, lobby, bar, and even the hallways were usable and comfortable. I had high hopes when I booked this room back in August, thinking it was too good to be true, but it exceeded my expectations in every way. The staff was friendly and helpful. The maid on our floor gave us the complete history of the building and its' renovation, taking the time to show us all the other options for different room styles. All were modern without being too cold--just perfect. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious and well-supplied, and the seating area was open and inviting. We were in town one night for a Springsteen concert and the Ambassador's location was ideal for the Sprint center and the Power and Light district. We parked when we arrived and didn't need to move the car until we left. Even if we did need powered vehicles, nearby parking lots had electric scooters, Segways, and electric cars for rent -- way cool and convenient. I've got to find one negative, and it was lack of a particular alcohol at the bar --a very small negative. Other than that, I wish I'd been able to stay longer. Our next trip to KC will require a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scott216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We wish you could have stayed longer too! We enjoyed having all of the Springsteen fans with us, what a devoted crowd! I am happy you enjoyed your visit and as you mentioned our location is perfect for attending concerts or events at the Sprint Center as well as going to the Power and Light District. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our car service as well and we hope you will stay with us again when you visit Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ambassador the night we attended Aerosmith at the Sprint Center. We found the hotel spotless, not even finger smudges on the elevator doors. The beds were comfy. Even my husband commented on them. The robes provided were cozy and bath towels plush. The whole room was very relaxed and inviting.

After the concert we were pleased to find the bar still open so we were able to enjoy a nightcap. We were greeted by the desk clerk each time we came in or went out. The driver was eager to take us anywhere we wanted to go. We did not need to use his services since the whole reason for staying here was to be able to walk where ever we wanted to go. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrendaFBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for this nice review, I am so glad you enjoyed staying at the hotel for the concert. We have the best location in Kansas City if you are attending a concert or event at the Sprint Center. I am pleased that the bar was still open for you when you returned from the concert. I hope you will consider staying with us again next time you visit Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel the night of the Madonna concert. Since I live in KC, this was a treat. our suite was beyond belief.....modern furniture, great lighting, comfortable bed and bedding, wonderful amenities. The staff was excellent, especially Andrew, who was available for our every need and exceeding friendly and helpful. Kudos to the bar staff, who put up with a bunch of rowdy party people , who were still having fun after the concert. The hotel is a great addition to the Kansas City downtown scene. The location is ideal for the events at the Sprint Center and Power and Light district. I highly recommend this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a suite. You will be delightfully surprised at its elegance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xnyrnkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for such a great review. I am happy you enjoyed staying with us for the concert, we have a great location just steps from the Sprint Center. I am very pleased to know that Andrew and the bar staff exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I can't stop talking about how great this hotel was. I was there for one night on business. The basic King room was gorgeous and HUGE, everything is new, and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed, giant shower, giant desk. My room service salad was surprisingly good. Lovely bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stella082001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review. I am glad you enjoyed our great rooms and our wonderful food. I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We live in KC but needed a night away from our little one and were anxious to try the newest hotel in downtown. It was gorgeous inside and the service was excellent. Walking distance to anything in Power and Light and they have a car service that will take you anywhere else you'd like to go. The bed was very comfy and it was a wonderful getaway. Would recommend this to locals and visitors alike!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for this great review. I am delighted you were able to "stay-cation" with us, we offer a great get away for people in the Kansas City area. We hope you return again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
4.3 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#16 of 111 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#27 of 111 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Property: Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Address: 1111 Grand Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64106
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic, independent boutique hotel. Built in 1920, the seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing