We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was hoping for so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I live between Kansas City and Los Angeles and we thought it would be a nice treat to stay in a highly rated downtown hotel for a quick weekend trip back to KC rather than staying at our place in the river market.
When we arrived the sidewalk was being paved, so we had to walk around cars parked in front and squirm around traffic to reach the entrance with our luggage.
Note: the sidewalk was back to normal by the time we checked out.
We checked in but were rushed through the check-in process since there was only one attendant and multiple ringing phones. I get it, I travel a lot, no biggie. I can figure it all out.
We stayed in room 301 which is located just off the elevators. The room itself was really nice with a great street view onto Grand. If you want to sleep in or go to bed early on a weekend make sure you ask for another room. The modern elevator is cool, but incredibly loud and annoying at 6am when you are still in another time zone (perhaps my biggest gripe - the mornings - we know KC so we expected the noise on Grand at 1am, it's a party place!)
We put up the do not disturb sign on Saturday and got a big surprise when our room was entered and cleaned when we stepped out for half an hour. I'm just glad I wasn't sleeping or taking a shower!
In room dining was ok, but not memorable. No room service menu in the room, food delivered without utensils, blah blah blah.
Oh, and condoms in the desk drawer were a surprise. Apparently the last visitor finished all but the last two off.
I wrote the hotel a note about our weekend, I'll repost if I receive any feedback.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAK1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Ambassador Hotel Kansas City. On behalf of my entire team I wish to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had last weekend. I sent a note to the email address we have on file and left a voice mail at the number on file so we could discuss your stay. I hope we have the opportunity to speak very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 488 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We agree with all the reviews, clean, elegant, spacious. The driver took us wherever we wished to go in the area, which was a plus as the parking situation requires contacting the front desk by means of an outdoor intercom. The decorating was first rate and still reflected the old bank buildings former glory. Downsides: room wasn't serviced until 4:30 p.m. and we had a party to dress for at 6. "Hannah" asked if we had our "service sign" out - yes, we did at 9 that morning. Hannah should have responded, we will make sure housekeeping is aware of that next time. Restaurant: serve some bread or snacks while the customer waits for the meal to come (average wait was about l5 to 20 min.). At breakfast, we got one cup of coffee because our waitress was running the room service cart upstairs to other rooms. Leave the coffee pot on the table, we are happy to serve ourselves. Refining the little things makes the whole experience "world-class" and we can tell everyone is making the effort to provide a super stay.

Room Tip: Other than the heavy stairwell fire doors slamming shut, we had a very quiet and sunny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkerBarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The rooms are clean, elegant, and spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. And the location is excellet (a block away from the Power & Light District and the College Basketball museum). I had a great stay, and will look to book there again on my next trip to KC.

Highlights:

- Thoughtful and consistent style (even in the elevators)
- Giant Shower
- Flat Screen TV's
- Blackout Curtains (really good ones)
- Comfy Bed

Room for improvement:

- Lack of valet parking
- Limited options for room service

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having never been to Kansas City before I was happy there was such a stylish hotel. The rooms were a good size, the staff was mostly very nice and helpful, the beds were comfortable, the cocktails are great, there are many places to walk to from the hotel and they have a very handy driver who will drive you for free on a first come first served basis.

The downside: This is a party hotel - most of which takes place on the 5th floor so when you book stay far away from that floor. The walls and windows are very thin and partiers get very drunk and very loud. Also stay away from the elevators - they are extremely loud and can be heard through the walls.

While the design is good the workmanship is not up to par - tiles mislaid in the shower resulted in pools of water during and after showering, bathroom doors unlevel so don't stay shut, room numbers falling right off the doors, the food is very greasy and very salty.

My disappointment with this hotel is that with their design it seems they are trying to cater to people who appreciate details but there are trouble in the details everywhere you look. (I know this is silly but even the massive tiles behind the front desk are mislaid and don't line up properly - I think that's actually very telling about the whole place. Saying, "Welcome, we're not quite perfect but we don't think you'll notice.")

Then again, maybe they're just trying to be the somewhat trendy option in town - if that's the case, they'll do fine until they're no longer new.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjenred5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review your experience of the Ambassador Hotel Kansas City. I am pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds and had the opportunity to use our complimentary car service during your visit. As you mentioned our signature cocktails in Reserve are great and our location is the best in Kansas City. I appreciate your kind words regarding our colleagues as well, we have a dedicated team that strives to always exceed our guests expectations. I apologize that you were disturbed by other guests staying the hotel, and I have shared your comments regarding the shower with my team. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope you will stay with us again next time you visit Kansas City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a weekend getaway in August. The hotel was extremely nice. The shower was the best part. HUGE. It is within walking distance of great restaurants and entertainment. The hotel is complete with modern furnishings, and everything looks top of the line. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Located right in the middle of everything!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the Ambassador for four nights last week when I was in KC for a business trip. I live in Washington, DC and have stayed in luxury hotels around the world... and I thought the Ambassador hotel was fabulous. The modern decor signified impeccable taste and was comfortable at the same time. The staff was friendly and the bar/restaurant was a fun place to hang out. When in Kansas City, stay at the Ambassador and make sure to visit the nearby Crossroads art district. The new restaurant in Crossroads, the Jacobson, is better than much of the food I get in DC and NYC. Their Kansas City strip steak (with bone marrow butter on the side) and the Crossroads salad with avocado, house-cured bacon, and a poached egg on top should not be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at the Ambassador Hotel in downtown Kansas City for one night during the second week of September, 2012. This hotel is an excellent boutique hotel with new, very modern style furnishings. I recommend it for both business and pleasure.

This hotel is part of a trend I am seeing in many larger cities in the United States, namely, taking an older elegant property and refurbishing it for a boutique hotel.

I originally expected to arrive late but upon arriving at the airport earlier than expected, I called the hotel and let them know I needed to check-in quickly before a business meeting. The front desk did an excellent job of very quickly checking me in and I was in my room and out for a business meeting in no time. Located downtown, the hotel had an excellent location within a block or two of my business meeting.

I had an executive king room that was nicely furnished and quite large. The furnishings appear to be brand-new. They did a very good job of refurbishing this older classic building. It gives the impression of a elegant older building but with modern furnishings. Amenities included a nice thick robe, not one of the cheap ones you see at other hotels, a Keurig coffeemaker with Starbucks coffee, good Wifi (included), an iHome radio to charge your iPhone (and listen to your own music), a small frig, and turndown service with cookies as an added touch. It was nice to make a drinkable cup of coffee in the room, as opposed to the terrible in-room coffee and coffee makers at every other hotel I've ever stayed at. Large modern bathroom with walk-in shower. Since the rooms are new, they have never had someone smoking in them. It appears to be a non-smoking hotel.

My business meeting ran late so I ate at the nearby 801 Chophouse which has excellent fillet mignon and steaks. There are a lot of restaurants near the hotel. I hope to try the restaurant at the hotel on my next visit.

The hotel front desk staff was very helpful in getting me checked out quickly for an early flight out. Overall, I highly recommend the Ambassador Hotel. By the way, the hotel appears to be so new that I had to give instructions to the taxi driver as to its location. Look for a large dark red flag hanging outside the front of the hotel that says Ambassador Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanmeetsthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 111 in Kansas City
1,204 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 111 in Kansas City
1,185 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#18 of 111 in Kansas City
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection

Address: 1111 Grand Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64106-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $218 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Gate City National Bank building has been transformed into a chic boutique hotel in Kansas City offering luxury accommodations and elegant public spaces. Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection is a premier space for business and leisure travel. Built in 1920, our seven-story structure exhibits the neoclassical style favored at the time. The building retains the striking architecture that put it on the National Register of Historic Places. Lobby walls and curved staircase to the lower level are sheathed in marble and Reserve Restaurant provides innovative cuisine. We invite you to stay with us and experience this exceptional place, which sits within minutes of the popular Sprint Center and Kansas City Power & Light District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kansas City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing