We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Security Lines”
Review of Sprint Center

Sprint Center
Ranked #30 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southwest Virginia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Long Security Lines”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently attended the NCAA Basketball Tournament at the Sprint Center. Like most downtown arena’s parking is a pain and expensive unless you are staying at one of the downtown hotels and can walk to the venue. Parking within a couple of block of the arena ran $20 to $30, while parking 4-5 blocks away was $15-$20. Once you are able to find parking and get to the arena be prepared to wait in line while you go through security. For the opening round afternoon session it took us almost 30-minutes to get through security and into the arena. When the arena was cleared between the afternoon an evening session it became obvious that the Sprint Center was ill prepared for such a short turn around. We were in line for almost 50-minutes trying to re-enter through security. Getting back into the building took so long that we almost missed the open tip for the evening session. The Sprint Center also has a policy that they will not allow camera’s with detachable lens, while I understand and respect this policy it is not evenly enforced. During both days of the tournament I saw no less than 6 such camera’s near my section. Just getting into the Sprint Center is a huge hassle. However once inside I found the facility clean and well maintained. The staff was polite and professional. Food was overpriced and the selection was standard fair for sports events. There was nothing outstanding or unusual about the food selection. While I enjoyed the games and atmosphere at the Sprint Center the long wait getting through security and the random enforcement of the camera policy soured my visit. Having been to 15-other NCAA Tournament Venues, the parking, security and entry policy at the Sprint Center is one of the worst. I don’t think I will consider making a return anytime soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SneakinDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    100
    35
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
232 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Sprinting Success!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Come to KC, and if you can, find a reason to spend some time at Sprint Center. It's a splendid circle of glass and activity you won't want to miss. Downtown, a part of the Power and Light District, it boasts the Basketball Hall of Fame and serves as a venue for countless other occasions in it's cozy bowl of an arena. We've been to Bull-Riding Competitions there which are wildly entertaining, and on that same ground floor, been served a banquet fit for a king-- an event sponsored by William Jewell College. It's a multi-task Mecca, popular for showcasing sports like the NCAA tournament and concerts of the biggest names around. Architecturally new but still sits like an easy chair.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GGMaSue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“NCAA Was Awesome”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went to the Ole Miss game and it was awesome. Luckily we were able to walk from the hotel. It was very close. Parking would have been a nightmare. Venu was spotless and new. Look forward to coming back to KC and visiting. Also NCAA hall of fame was great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank olemiss1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Access is Ridiculous”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The arena is very comparable to other recently built arenas. The food was the average arena quality. The real big complaint is the requirement to go through a separate security/metal detector. At least the airports have the system down so that it moves fairly rapidly. It took us over 30 minutes each session just to enter the arena. I am not sure why the arena feels it necessary to have this security. I have not experienced it at other arenas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeN_Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
552 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Clean, pleasant, wonderful venue.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Most every seat in the arena offers a good view of the court or stage, the facility is nicely maintained, and the box office is really helpful to work with. If there's a knock at all it would have to be the yucky, previously, previously prepared concessions. Popcorn is brought in via large previously-popped-elsewhere bags and contains mostly particles and kernels, so avoid that. The servers are pleasant and helpful but unless it's a candy bar don't recommend even considering 'food' items, even nachos there. Did I mention previously prepared yukky? So sad as there are so many wonderful restaurants and BBQ in KC. Still a nice venue, just don't buy the food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprint Center also viewed

 

Been to Sprint Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing