We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were presently surprised how great our hotel experience was. The hotel was very clean and updated. We had an inside 1 bedroom suite it was very clean and we liked all the room had to offer. My only complaint would have been the bed and pillows were not very comfortable. The staff was so nice and really wanted to make sure we had a good stay. We stayed Mon-Wen, so we got to enjoy the manager happy hour. It was a dinner, much to our surprise! The french dip was so devious, better than more restaurants!! We also enjoyed the free breakfast. It really helped us save money on food! Plus we loved the location, it was so close to country club plaza, crown center and union station. We used the pool twice and we always the only ones in there, which was nice since it was a bit small. But, our boys loved it! We have 2 boys with autism and traveling is always a bit stressful. This hotel made us feel at home and the boys have been asking when can we go back?! We will stay again, for sure!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wichitamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 244 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a great two room suite and worked perfect for our family. With a new baby we couldn't have asked for more. Very clean room with tons of amenities. Bathroom in main bathroom needed caulking and had huge crack- not very inviting. Pool was awesome and we felt like VIPs since no one used it besides us the entire time. Staff was not very professionally dressed but totally nice. Parking was easy enough once you checked in. Would totally stay again, but it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CubReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, walking distance to shopping and great restaurants on the Plaza. The staff is very friendly and customer service oriented. I stayed in the internal rooms and was quite pleased, the room was very clean, large and had a gas fireplace. The extras included free breakfast in the morning with a lot of choices more than you would expect from a free breakfast at the hotel. Also, Mon-Wed they have a managers reception with a lot of homemade foods and the staff at night is wonderful that runs the happy hour. I have high praise for the Happy Hour staff and the food they provide you could eat dinner for free right there and no need to leave the hotel after a busy day. The parking is a little tight in the covered parking area but real no issues. I would stay here again on my next business trip to KC.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Dragons30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

You can't get any closer to the best restaurants and shops in the Plaza. The room was clean and spacious and check-in attendance very kind. Another perk is free covered parking. We considered staying in the "outside entry" room but selected the inside" and were happy we did. Outside can park right next to their door so for extended stay guests, they may work out better. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudgeNJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Selected this location for proximity to the CC area to have a quick family meetup, while still having the option for cooking capabilities and a more family-like setting. It also was "dog friendly", although we ended up boarding ours. Finally, the ability to drive in front of our room and enter without going through lobbies and elevators was appealing for privacy concerns with my daughter's medical condition.

At best, this got an overall mixed reviews. I had rented a 1 BR suite and had Marriott Platinum status.

The Positives: Great condition of lobby areas, nice breakfast service area, location great and free parking at the hotel (vs. going to the public garages adjacent to other hotels in the area). Could park in front of room ("east wing" - older apartments). Turns out the hallways and stairwells were in such good conditions that it would be comfortable accessing rooms without elevator use. Workout and pool area was very modern and clean, even though typically small. Front desk friendly and helpful.

NotSoMuch: As highlighted elsewhere, these are older apartments; not clear from pictures, but it seems like the "west wing" or tower rooms may be furnished more nicely. Toilet leaked. Bathroom terribly small - difficult to sit on the john and get door closed. East wing rooms (with a little research) were 100 sqft smaller and lacked adequate space to place a rollaway if you are also using the pullout couch. Pullout couch cushions were completely flat and uncomfortable to sit on. Rollaway quality was so poor (noisy) went to Wal-mart and bought an air-mattress. Exterior door was so poorly maintained that cold air poured right in. Kitchen was barely equipped with glass/silverware for 4, but only a 1-qt sauce pan (nothing bigger, no fry pan, no baking sheets). Reported to front desk, "lots of people take them" (really?? - for these rates u can't replace them?). Linens - particularly those supplied for the rollaway and couch - were threadbare, worn, and poor quality, particularly compared to the Marriott I just stayed at or any SPG property. There literally was a six-inch gash one of the blankets supplied. Gas grill was caked with grime.

Bottom line; you can make this work, and this location is fabulous if you'd like to have a family gathering in the country club area. To do so, strongly suggest you bring your own comforters/linens, air mattress, cooking utensils and food (the SunFresh market nearby is dreadful and highly expensive). Obviously, practical only if you're driving.

Me, I'm going to continue looking for the ideal place in the area; going to try the Intercontinental next time.

Room Tip: East Wing has outside access. West wing likely better condition. Avoid 3rd floor in West as noisy...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WickedMadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments. As an extended stay hotel we do a high volume of long term stays which makes it difficult to access occupied rooms for repairs. Programs are in place now that we are in slower times to access and perform maintenance and inventories to bring the east wing which houses a majority of our long term stay up to par. Dealing with a historic building is a challenge but we are focused on upkeep. Daily inspections are done by the managers and items are addressed as quickly as possible with enthusiasm. Its a challenge and we are all up for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

As part of our Christmas, our family decided to book a room at the Residence Inn on the plaza. We enjoy staying at Residence Inn hotels and have always had good experiences and enjoyed the stay. The lobby and main tower building are attractive buildings and appeared well kept. When I made the reservation online, I noticed we had an outside entrance. What I wasn't aware of, was that we would be in an adjacaent building that had been renovated from a previous apartment building. For starters, the key had to be scanned multiple times before the door opened. Once the door was open, a staircase led us up to two rooms. Our room was on the left and another tenant was to the right. We have an 18 month old so we packed her and all our luggage up those stairs.....no elevator. We had requested a crib (pack n play) and once we were inside a young man brought it to our room. My husband started putting the pack in play together and it was broke. We didn't request another because when checking in they weren't sure they even had any left but thought there might be "one". We had requested a crib when making our reservation but understand they are not guaranteed. Other issues with the room included a vent in the bathroom hanging down by 1 screw, doors on bedroom closet were not on tracks, a drawer in the desk was hanging and I think the only thing holding it up was the chair pushed underneath, the furniture was quite worn and as far as the mattress goes....well it was worn out.. My daughter was wearing new white socks and in no time at all they were no longer white from crawling around on the floor. Not long after we arrived to our room I tried calling guest services as well as the front desk....no one answered our calls. We went ahead and left the room to visit the plaza which is within walking distance. This was the best thing about the hotel. When we came back to our room, I called the front desk again and asked about room change. My husband did not want to change rooms but I did. I did not want to stay in this room. I didn't have to coax my husband in to moving as the young lady told us she did not have any rooms to move us to. Perhaps the icing on the cake was the next morning when my husband was washing up our daughters cups in the sink and it would not drain. We complained to management when checking out. He was apologetic and gave us a discount on the room. Unfortunately, the money isn't the issue. We as most families lead busy lives and had adjusted our schedules to get away for a couple of days as a family. The time you don't get back. We will NEVER stay here again. The manager asked about switching rooms and told us he didn't know why we weren't switched because there were other rooms available....which was not what we were told when we contacted front desk.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the adjacent apartment building that has been renovated.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiuCancun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

The room you occupied was recently inspected, however the issues you noted were not reported to the engineering department as is policy. The East wing rooms are frequently requested due to the size of the rooms and the easy access. Not having an elevator does create a hardship, especially for those with a lot of luggage. Scott reported the incident to me and dealt with the issues immediately after your departure. As you noted, the staff here isvery concerned about our guests, but some things fall through the cracks. We welcome you back and feel free to contact Scott or myself if we may be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We checked into this hotel after immediately checking out of another hotel with similar rating...highly recommend this one! Very clean and we got a two bedroom suite with a full kitchen, living room, two bathrooms, and fireplace! This was great for a family! Staff was very pleasant and breakfast buffet was very good. Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank elenaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4601 Broadway, Kansas City, MO 64112-1461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $175 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing