We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #43 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you're wanting a home away from home while traveling for business this is the place. Perfect for a few nights or long term stays. Rooms have bedroom, living area and kitchen. Like a small apartment. Free breakfast daily (including hot items like eggs, meat, and waffles) and I absolutely love the Managers reception Mon-Wed evenings. This isn't just cheese and crackers , this is delicious, homemade food. Craig and the staff are absolutely amazing. He even makes sure that there is always a vegetarian option and makes something yummy for dessert. We could stay anywhere while on business travel but my coworkers and I stay here for the hospitality and warm welcome you get here. Free wifi makes it easy for you to work after hours if needed. The rooms are always clean and are well appointed. The free parking is nice too and that's a perk on the Country Club plaza as most hotels charge.

Room Tip: *If you're wanting a full stove instead of just a cooktop ask for an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    65
    28
    9
    12
See reviews for
64
44
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here one night while in KC for a wedding. It was very nice...an older building...but well kept. We had a suite where we could park right outside the door which was very convenient. Furnishings were nice...2 tv's, small kitchen with full size stove and oven, refrigerator, microwave, etc You could easily stay here a week and fix your own meals if necessary. We had a great breakfast buffet...free by the way...it had everything...waffles, scrambled eggs, cereal, yogart, bagels, sausage,fruit, juice, coffee and probably many items I didn't see. And items were resupplied quickly when they were running low.
Parking, I might add, was free. Now some of our friends who also were going to this wedding and they stayed in the Mariott Courtyard about a block away.(same price) Well, their breakfast was NOT free and parking was $15 a night. And they just had a hotel room, not a suite.
If you're going to stay near the Plaza, this was the place to get more for your money.

Room Tip: Small fountain and sitting area around in the back if you like to spent time outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OkieDokieIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just as in real estate deals, location is very important in traveling to certain places. The Residence Inn at County Club Plaza in KC is in a perfect location for walking to the shops and restaurants to the south and for walking to the Nichols fountain and Nelson-Atkins museum to the east. Since this is a suite hotel the rooms are quite spacious and have small kitchens as well. The TV's are new and the complimentary wi-fi is great. This hotel serves one of the better breakfasts I've had in a while too. Good job to the chefs! The people I spoke to at the front desk were helpful and attentive to my needs. This property also has complimentary garage parking. The only thing I can mention as a downside is my room was noisy at night when other guests were in their rooms. I was on the 1st floor and I could hear the guests just above me walking around their room. All this being said I will definitely stay at this property again on a return visit to KC. Even if your business is in other parts of the city or outside the city this location makes a good home base and the proximity to the Plaza is great! Thanks to everyone at the Residence Inn, Country Club Plaza for making my stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'fallon, MO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great location , one block from Country Club Plaza which is why we were there. Easy parking in the garage. Large room, very comfortable bed and friendly staff. I was hoping for biscuits and gravy for breakfast since I had read a review that stated they were good and we must of been there on the egg and sausage day but that really was my only compliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobboating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a few months while on business in KC, the location was great if all you want to do is shop. There are no grocery stores within reasonable walking distance although they do offer a complementary shopping service. Beware if you are going to make use of this and be very specific with what you order else you will get the most expensive items they can find - even when you are specific items are sometimes wrong. Rooms at first glance are nice and well presented but that first impression soon wore off. My bathtub was rusted and starting to crack in places and the toilet blocked 5 times during my stay. Staff would come and unblock the toilet, often spilling toilet juice all ober the already dirty bathroom floor and not clean this up. Maids would service my room daily, but this only includes making the bed and changing towels, some evenings i hadnt even been left any towels so a call to the desk was required and that was quickly rectified. I asked on a number of occasions for the room to be dusted and vacummed and the tiled floors to be mopped but this never happened, i stayed for a total of 8 weeks and i am pretty sure this didnt happen before i occupied the room. Bed sheets were not changed daily or even weekly. I accidently marked a sheet with nail polish and i had the same sheets for over 2 weeks. If you are unlucky enough to stay in one of the rooms furthest from the main hotel noise from groups gathering around the fountain can be a problem, at times i have had to call the front desk at 4am to ask them to move large groups congregating outside on. Each time this happened this was delt with quickly. The parking lot at the back of the hotel is accessable to anybody so often thesegroups were not even guests at the hotel. The staff at the front desk are this hotels best assest, any issues were delt with quickly, with the exception of having someone clean the room properly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve N, Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our staff is very excited to respond when presented with a problem. In regards to your room, I am sorry for the problems and have addressed them with the housekeeping staff. We will use your comments to step up the service and not have a recurring event. I will personally see that they follow through.

Steve Nechvatal, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I just spent a week in KC on business and the family came with me. The happy hour and breakfast staff were so friendly and had healthy choices for both meals. I am kind of a health nut so it was nice to have fresh produce beyond limp lettuce and under ripe bananas on their complementary buffets. The room was clean and quite and the staff worked around the nap schedule with cleaning. The location on the Plaza is great, one block off the main shopping corridors so it is very quiet but still close to great restaurants and shopping. The front desk made some recommendations for sights for my kids to visit during the day and all suggestions were a hit.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the common eating area on the third floor if you want quiet in the early am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel when you have a large group and need to be near the plaza. We were attending a tennis tournament at the plaza tennis center and found this hotel to be perfect. Once we arrived our car stayed in the nice, free covered parking. The location enables you to walk to many shops, restaurants and the plaza tennis center easily. There's a bit of a hill but not too bad. We had parents/kids and the room layout was perfect. The two bedroom/two bath suites can hold up to 6 people comfortably. There's a queen bed in each bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room. It's great having the full size frig complete with an ice maker. This is the only two bedroom/2 bath suite that I could find on the plaza.

The breakfast was fantastic - something different everyday. They had a yogurt parfait with fresh fruit, waffles, eggs (the real deal not the icky usual hotel stuff, breakfast potatoes, oatmeal and even pre-made egg muffin sandwiches. Our group agreed, it was one of the best hotel breakfasts! The ladies that work there are very nice. They helped us fill up our many drink bottles as we were headed out to play tennis in 100 degree heat!

Weeknights they have dinner including free drinks. We were so busy we didn't make it to check this out but I'm sure it was fantastic!

Room Tip: There are two two-bedroom suites per floor. Our group of 11 had two of these suites just down the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#16 of 112 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4601 Broadway, Kansas City, MO 64112-1461
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing