We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location in Country Club Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #49 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Davie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent location in Country Club Plaza”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Had to go there for business for one tenant at Country Club Plaza so being able to walk to my meetings was priceless. The room was very roomy and the internet complimentary so that made working from there easier. Finally the complimentary breakfast had more choices than usual, so that was a good surprise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linisima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    80
    40
    16
    17
See reviews for
84
56
7
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Great breakfast! Awesome location, close to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This RI was very clean and updated. For a family of five, we had plenty of space with a roll away and the pull out couch open. The view of Kansas City was amazing and we were within easy walking distance of the Country Club Plaza. It was very quiet and peaceful. We seriously felt like we were the only guests in the building. Breakfast was great and even better than we come to expect at a RI.

Room Tip: The corner rooms offer a great view of KC
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the5kites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Every reviewer has a different experience and writes about it. I won't repeat all the good stuff because this is a decent hotel with a lot of good qualities that others have described.

Here are the negatives from my 3 day stay:
1. The room was advertised as a Room type:  Studio, 1 Queen, Sofabed. Well, although the room is like a small apartment with a kitchen, the bed is not a queen, only a double size. Which was ok, but a little small.

2. Elevator is really slow and small.

3. Animals are allowed. Somewhere there must be animal- allowed rooms that are segregated. I met a lady walking her dog in the hall. I love animals but I can imagine some folks having a problem with allergies.

4. Most important is the NOISE.
This was on the 5th floor facing the street. The doors are such that there's no way to deliberately close them quietly. And most people just let them fly on their own with the spring loaded hinges. So each door closure down the hallway is a ker-BLAM!!! Very annoying.

The walls are not sound proofed at all between rooms. I woke up before 6 AM to my neighbor's alarm clock which rang for 10 minutes before resetting itself (and with me wearing earplugs!). They must have checked out early (ker-BLAM) and left the alarm on for my enjoyment.

The heaters/AC units cycle on and off with loud fans and blow air right on your face. And if you turn it off you hear your neighbor's (next door and above/below) fan kicking on/off and humming very loudly.

The high efficiency toilets push water through the pipes so fast you hear a loud WHOOSH with every flush of your upstairs neighbor's pot.

I heard every footstep of my upstairs neighbors as they moved around their room.

Conclusion:
Nice, modern hotel with very good features, but depending on your sensitivity, this can be a noisy aggravating experience.




  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKtrythis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I've stayed in lots of fancier hotels, but never one that makes family travel so easy. We booked a 2-bedroom suite on the hotel's website. I'm not sure how many there are, but if you're traveling with a family, snag one. It'll provide you with a very nice kitchen (stainless steel appliances, even), a smallish but functional dining space and adjacent living room/tv space, and two entirely separate bedrooms, each with its own full bath. Add it up, and it's big. BIG. Other members of our party stayed in a standard 1-bedroom, and it wasn't nearly as nice, so it's definitely worth it to book the extra square footage.

We were able to check in several hours early and went to a decent supermarket nearby and stocked our kitchen (very handy for our kiddo with food allergies). We stayed with two kids, and the hotel provided a pack and play-type crib for the little one. It didn't leave a ton of space between the bed and wall, but it worked fine. The decor is attractive, the housekeeping staff does good work, and the linens are comfy.

The breakfast each morning was great, especially on weekdays. There were a couple of hot egg/meat/biscuit choices, a waffle iron, good oatmeal, yogurt selection, granola and cold cereals, pastries. The coffee--oddly--was the only weak link. Convenient and with friendly and helpful staff who kept it tidy and clean.

It wasn't all sunshine and roses--the wireless went down our first day and never came back. And there were inexcusably noisy guests near us who were raising the roof well past midnight. Neither of the situations was resolved, even after we asked the mgmt, so I knocked off a star for that.

I know RIs are mainly geared toward business travelers, but we felt welcomed by staff and other guests. Maybe it was just the road warriors missing their own kids, but everyone was friendly and helpful. We didn't encounter any of the parking challenges that other reviews have mentioned--always plenty of space in the main ramp.

If you have kids, walk down to the Plaza and visit ZOOM toy store, have a treat at Cupcake a la Mode, and browse the 3-story Barnes & Noble.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here with 3 grown children for a quick getaway. We found our units very clean as Marriotts usually are. Breakfast is good. The location is great for walking to the Country Club Plaza, but be warned that it atop a hill so you have to walk up to go back to your room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastToMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

You will not be disappointed. The staff is friendly and accommodating. I asked for different pillows, and they were brought up to my room. The sales staff greets guests at the evening reception, something I've never seen before. The rooms are quiet -- you don't hear noise next door, above or below. The rooms feature a nice desk and working environment. The only negative is the location of the business center, if you need a printer or to use their computer. There is only one computer in a small room right off the main desk which can be noisy and not private. The location -- is great. The hotel sits on the edge of the Country Club Plaza with scores of great restaurants, shops, music, etc. A hidden gem (not on the Plaza Map) is the vegetarian restaurant Eden Alley on Jefferson. Kansas City is not a place people often think about for travel. It's really a hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTeam4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 108 in Kansas City
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4601 Broadway, Kansas City, MO 64112-1461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing