We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“New & looking Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“New & looking Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a New Hotel, and I was very impressed. The Front Desk Staff was Friendly, helpful, and professional.

Large rooms with Microwave, Fridge, and flat screen HD TV’s with about 50 channels. Quiet AC/Heat. Standard size work desk which was well lit, with convenient outlets. The rooms are nicely decorated, and have a nice “Homey” feel. The free internet connection was fast & reliable.

Beds were fantastic. Clean and comfortable, and the rooms are quiet.

Large bathroom with good water pressure, but the hot water is waaaay too hot!!!.

Because everything is new, there’s not much wrong with anything. It was a very pleasant stay.

The Free Breakfast was usual HIE selection. Hot & Cold items that looked great. The only drawback was that it was usually late every morning, so I had to skip it in order to get to work on time.

Nothing much around the Hotel except a Gas Station/convenience store next door, so driving will be necessary to find a restaurant near-by.

Room Tip: Mostly all rooms are quiet since the Hotel is in a slightly isolated area. No traffic at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Jim,

Thank you for your honest feedback, we always look for ways to improve upon and will take your honest feedback and learn from them.

Thank You and hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    74
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
78
32
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stay at this Holiday Inn Express whenever we are in the area. This time I took my mom & sister. They both agreed that this is one of the best HI Express hotels they are ever stayed in. Newton, at the front desk, was awesome with room selection. He gave superior service. The breakfast was first rate again. And the rooms were clean & comfortable. Construction getting to the hotel was our only problem.

Room Tip: On second floors...odd number rooms by the interstate and roads, even fast parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petefamx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Pete,

Thank you for your feedback! Newton has been with us since the hotel opened in September 2012, and is a valuable asset to the hotel as well as the entire staff here.

Hopefully the construction is completed by Fall of next year!

See you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was close to the location for our son's wedding (Hawthorne House, Parkville, MO). They offered shuttle service to and from the airport, to our venue on the day of the wedding, as well as shuttle service to Zona Rosa Shopping Center (outdoor plaza with great shopping and restaurants). The hotel itself has been recently remodeled, offered a great breakfast option each morning. Rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. Only a few miles from the airport and directly off the freeway, it is in a nice centralized location. Hotel staff was extremely accommodating and they did a great job offering a great group rate for the wedding party and guests. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKmom_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is completely remodeled. It is the nicest hotel I've stayed at in years-better than the Hilton properties and Comfort Inns and Suites I've stayed in. The reason I didn't give excellent is because there was some dust on the furniture and a few hairs in the bathroom. I got a double queen room and everything was very new and updated. We were very comfortable, it was quiet and there is a great complementary breakfast. My daughter said the cinnamon rolls were really good. Only thing I would change is to put an exhaust fan in the bathroom. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgoetzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express must be a fairly new one, very modern and very clean - We stayed at the Drury Inn before flying out the week before but Holiday Inn gave me a better price so we choose to stay there. So glad we did other than I asked and was told I was booking a room with 2 queen beds - our flight was delayed and was going to be late getting there so I called to let them know, the girls says we have overbooked and have upgraded you to a suite with a king bed and pullout sofa. Well that was nice but it really wasn't an upgrade - there was myself, my 18 year old daughter and 14 year old daughter and we really could have been more comfortable in 2 queen size beds. And by the time we all three got luggage in the room and pulled out the sofa bed there really was no room to move around. So to me that wasn't really an upgrade. But since we didn't arrive to the hotel until 3:00 am due to flight delays I didn't complain much. They have a breakfast and other than Drury offering the night time snacks we would probably stay again but when we can get breakfast and really dinner at Drury it makes it hard to stay somewhere else. BUT with that being said I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: One side is on the highway side so I would suggest asking for rooms on the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prtravelmadeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
222 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a road trip. I selected the property because of its location to 1-29 and because it had queen beds. The hotel is new. It is clean. The staff is very friendly. The decor is a little trendy. I cant help but to believe it will be dated in 5-10 years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leojtracnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is top notch. The service was excellent, always very very courteous and helpful. As well, the rooms are very clean, new and modern. Also, the rooms are very quiet. The breakfast is ok, about what you would expect for a Holiday Inn. I would come back and stay again as it is very nice and very clean. Also it is relatively close to all the attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJsAltoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#5 of 112 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#36 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kansas City Airport-KCI East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Address: 9550 NW Polo Dr, Intersection I-29 Tiffany Springs Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64153-1130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing