We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sparkly, Modern, Comfy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sparkly, Modern, Comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a brand new property with delightful decor. The front-desk staff was efficient, friendly and seemed genuinely happy to have a bustling hotel--there were a lot of people staying the night we were there. Everything was clean, very comfortable beds, nice exercise room and a salt water pool! (Whirlpool is standard chlorine.) Breakfast was usual hotel food (drive 45 minutes to Wheatfields in Lawrence if you are headed that way anyway.) Great eco features like low-flush toilets and the key card electrical system. It was quiet and we all slept very well.

Room Tip: The rooms with a King bed are very spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jencircletheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear jencircletheworld,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us. we value all guest feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    76
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
78
35
9
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Overall a very nice new hotel but the beds are horrible and mattress pads are even worst.

For a new hotel and new beds you would think they would have invested money so guest could get a good nights sleep. The fact that you can get a rate that includes parking while your on a trip makes it very easy to book and stay, take their shuttle to the airport in the AM, so that is a huge advantage. BUT the beds are, as I mentioned horrible. They are hard, very hard and the mattress pads are even worst. Reminds me of beds you sleep on in Mexico.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marine-0311-Grunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Tom G,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for telling us your concern about the bed. We apologize for this inconvenience. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were disappointed when the old airport HIE closed a few years ago. Now a new one has been built just a bit further from the airport. The new HIE decor is a dramatic change from the old - you might call it retro/deco. We liked the use of color, the faux deluxe columns, and retro art. We liked having food available well before the full breakfast hour as many guests were there for early flights. (Kansas City's airport is far north of town and winter weather unpredictable). We didn't like the extra firm mattress or the quirky energy saving features (insert card in slot to turn electricity on). On balance, once we get used to the new concept, we will look forward to seeing more HIE properties updated to this decor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Island-Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Island-Voyager,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your great comments about the new hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family. We will pass all of your comments about the hotel on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for also telling us your thoughts about your room. We have a lot of new features. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a new Holiday Inn Express and the decor is fantastic. I stayed twice in one week. Once when I had to pick up my HR partner & then when she needed to be at the airport early in the morning. Both times has some impressive decorated rooms. The breakfast is the normal holiday inn express spread. Nice set up in the cardio fitness room. Much better lighting in the rooms also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Kellee R,

Thank you for telling us abourt your stay. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We will pass your comments on to the staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Ok, I am partial to HIE/IC hotel brands so when I saw this reasonably priced hotel in KC along with the good ratings, we selected this location. YES, as previous guests mentioned, the hotel's decor is georgeous and has a very unique style/design that I have not seen at any other location. I especially liked the modern room decor. That being said, I am going to move past the "pretty" part of the review. This is a new hotel so as you would expect, it is very clean.

PROS-nice decor, new hotel, very clean, near airport (if you need that), quiet location, ac works well, comfy bed, cool Priority Club members wheel, reasonable price.

CONS-Big paragraph below...

I really only have one negative thing to say about this hotel and it is more for management about the design of the air conditioner location but might affect traveler's opinions if air blowing on you while you sleep is a problem. In a typical hotel room you either have a central air setup or some type of window unit, this room had central air...but the vent placement was awkward and quite frankly gave us a miserable night's sleep. The vent is higher up on the wall and aimed at the window. So when the fan (heat or ac) is on, it causes the curtains to blow around. Not a big deal, but a HUGE chunk of the air blows directly on the person's pillow who sleeps on the left side of the bed!! We prefer to keep our room cool at night (70ish) so the ac was running for quite awhile to cool the room down. During these few hours I was sitting on the bed and could not handle that crazy strong cold air blowing on me....and I love a cold room! I decided to shut off the ac to avoid the problem, but the room grew warm quickly. So, the options to keep the room at 70 degrees was to have cold air blow on my face when I was in bed, or keep the room at a higher temperature we might not have been comfortable sleeping at. Whoever thought up the placement of that vent apparently didn't think the logistics out too well. It didn't help there are metal covers over the fan area on the wall that rattled a bit when every time the fan came on (new hotel issue maybe?). I guess what I am trying to say is if you don't want cold air blowing on your face and you sleep on the left side of the bed, then you might want to rethink this as the vents are not adjustable to rotate the air direction. I tried to sleep with the covers over my face from getting that artic ac blast but you shouldn't have to sleep like that you know? Never seen this before at a HIE, but then again, everything about this location was a bit unique. I would give this hotel 5 stars otherwise, but I can't pretend that wasn't a big issue for us getting a great night's rest there.

About location-If you are going to KC to sightsee and go to some tourist things downtown, or south of downtown, this is probably not the location for you. If you are needing a location close to the airport, then it would be ideal....but 15-2 minutes out of the way for our sightseeing things in town. We didn't know enough about the layout of KC when we arrived so this was our error in booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DownhereinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear DownhereinTX,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your concerns about the hotel. We appreciate you telling us about yoru thoughts about the ac in your room. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. Guest feedback is very important to us. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
135 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was the nicest Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed at! The decorating was great (halls, lobby, rooms). It was very very clean, and the staff was great at giving directions for restaurants, etc. They have a shuttle to the airport. I had to leave before the breakfast buffet was set out, so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Roadtripper 10,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback.. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass all of your comments on to the staff. They will appreciate hearing they are doing a good job. Thank you for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

When traveling we usually stay at either Homewood Suites, or HIX properties. Stayed at the Homewood suites across the way 2 weeks ago, and hated it, didn't know this HIX existed until we got to the area, because it is new. So when I saw it, I had to check it out on our next visit to KC. We stayed here for 2 nights, and absolutely loved it. Everything was clean, and fresh. The decor is that of an upscale hotel, so you don't feel like you're staying at a HIX. The staff was very friendly, and welcoming, and helpful when needed. We will definitely be staying here again, we have found our go to hotel in KC!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear vacationNiki,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during your business trip. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We appreciate all guest feedback. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 113 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kansas City Airport-KCI East
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#36 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Airport
Courtyard Kansas City Airport
#35 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Address: 9550 NW Polo Drive, Intersection I-29 Tiffany Springs Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing