We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hole In The Wall”

Happy Gillis Cafe & Hangout
Ranked #126 of 1,424 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Hole In The Wall”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I check this place out after seeing it on Diners Dives and Drive Ins...and man was I happy I did. These little hole in the wall places are THE BEST!
Great atmosphere, great food, great price! I will defiantly go back anytime I'm in Kansas City!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c_bear311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    18
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sikeston, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wish we had not gone.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I very seldom submit a negative review but this is one. Reviews sounded amazing. Not to be! Canned biscuits?? If it wasnt canned gravy too i apologize for a mis statement. Two orders of it, side of bacon, 1 coffee--$21!! They used some seasoning on gravy that we did not like, don't mess with sausage gravy!! Decor was neat. Seemed to be nice place for girlfriends to meet. Lovly table settings

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairway, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“this local's fav”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I go every week. A favorite for this local foodie. It's always fresh and good and relaxing. The soup is amazing and I like the soup and 1/2 sandwich combo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelKC66205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you don't like Happy Gillis Cafe & Hangout, then you are just boring. Go when you aren't in a rush to get anywhere. We went for breakfast - the food was awesome and I knew right away it was a great place because the coffee was good. One person took our order, another person cooked it, and another person delivered it. They had 3 people working. We had a great time at HGCH and will return soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super cool!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This cafe is like a step back in time with vintage furnishings. Quality ingredients were used in their limited but sufficient menu. Excellent food quality and great coffees. We will definitely return to this KC jewel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissouriPhoebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Gillis Cafe & Hangout also viewed

 
North Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Happy Gillis Cafe & Hangout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing