We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but absolutely the best!”

Happy Gillis Cafe & Hangout
Ranked #109 of 1,411 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Simple but absolutely the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This little off the beaten path restaurant is one of those rare finds where the food is just plain out of this world. i had a house salad with the vinaigrette dressing with pistachios and it was so good i asked and received the recipe right on the spot! The homemade granola was so scrumptious as well! This is a must do while in Kansas City!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haysville, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is soo good, we ate there twice in one day!! I tried the "biscuit" for breakfast and it was amazing, very tasty! I had the Club for lunch and it was equally good. This place is tucked away in a neighborhood but I feel that it adds to the ambiance. Will be back!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ratfink62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little hangout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

A little hole in the wall cafe with great food and atmosphere. Had the breakfast sandwich which was delish and amazing coffee to boot. Would definitely come back

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bey1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a fun and unique place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

On a recent trip to KC, I stopped by Happy Gillis Cafe. They specialize in sandwiches and it shows! This was not my first time and I can guarantee I will be back. The specials change daily and on the day I visited, they were featuring a tomato soup and egg salad sandwich. The soup was made from scratch with large chunks of tomatoes. Thank goodness I only ordered a 1/2 sandwich of the egg salad. It was delivered to my table loaded with egg salad. The sandwich was exquisite. The egg salad was blended to perfection and was not overloaded with mayo (so many restaurants spoil the sandwich with too much mayo). My companion had a flavorful ham salad sandwich. Both of us were very pleased with our choices. Happy Gillis just has a good vibe. The tables, chairs, dinnerware, and cutlery are all mismatched and that adds to the ambiance. The walls are covered with eclectic art works. You order your food at the food bar upon entering and take a seat. As an FYI, the place is really packed for lunch so arrive early or about 1:00pm to assure you aren't standing in long lines. They make everything from scratch so don't go with the idea that they should serve your food immediately. The wait is no longer than any other restaurant...not to worry. It is a fun place for lunch and you leave definitely mellowed out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kacee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exciting Tastes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The food was great at this quaint but very good cafe. I had the curry chicken salad it was very flavorful and moist. My fiancee had the breakfast sandwich can't remember the name but it was very good. The particular breakfast sandwich, which name escapes me is one of there top sellers. The tomatoe soup with feta chesse was also very good. It is a small but nice place and the crowds keep this cafe very busy. I would defintely reccomemend this cafe and will be returning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnkr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Gillis Cafe & Hangout also viewed

Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Happy Gillis Cafe & Hangout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing