We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Mexican cuisine”

Zocalo Mexican Cuisine & Tequileria
Reserve with OpenTable
Zocalo Mexican Cuisine & Tequileria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 48th & Jefferson
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fresh Mexican cuisine”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We really enjoyed eating here on a warm Friday evening. The salsas were amazing, the service attentive, the entrees outstanding and the margaritas impeccable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parisajamais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    63
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing that they can do Mexican this well in KC!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Sunday brunch, order the lobster omlette or eggs benedict with crab cakes. Delicious! Serious margaritas, awesome hot sauce trios, fresh guacamole without any added extenders (such as creama or sour cream). Will be back again! I am serious about good mexican food, and this place has awesome food!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ladyonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills, Kansas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were expecting Zocalo to be a standard Mexican restaurant. It turned out to be a little more upscale and a little more trendy. My chorizo meatloaf was flavorful and just a little spicy. My wife's empanadas were a delicious twist on our expected Mexican dinner. It is ironic that a more expensive Mexican restaurant such as this one does not provide chips and salsa, but it really would not be expected here. We were in more of a rush than many of the customers, but it seemed to take a long time for our server to get around to bringing us our check.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DM335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Elegant, delicious, and great service”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting KC and always enjoy walking around on the Plaza. We cam to Zocalo for dinner and were seated immediately. Our server was very attentive, even to making sure we had our second round of drinks exactly when we needed it. The salsas are excellent, very flavorful. Our meals arrived very quickly and were absolutely top quality. We are vegetarians so had the chile rellenos and cheese enchiladas, also black beans and rice. Can't say enough about how perfect the chiles were--not mushy, very tender and perfectly seasoned. Everything was exceptionally good. If we lived here, we'd be there every week!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank halltab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Happy Hour”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Always a favorite to visit for Happy Hour. With great specials it's hard to beat. On our last visit our server was a little over the top and quite literally grabbed the plates we were eating off of mid bite to remove from the table. Definitely not a deal breaker. We will be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank LegolandDiscoveryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zocalo Mexican Cuisine & Tequileria also viewed

Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Zocalo Mexican Cuisine & Tequileria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing