We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Multiple servers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jose Pepper's

Jose Pepper's
Ranked #295 of 1,400 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Parkville, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Multiple servers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

First Jose peppers is a different way of service, the multiple server has been there a long time as so have I as a customer. I agree they go a bit overboard. I have a question, why would multiple people ask you if you are ready to order unless you repeatedly turn them away. I'm not saying Dont look over their great menu. What I am saying is Dont bash them because they are attentive. I have never had an empty glass, I have had issues with the food and when there is an issue I have always had a manager make sure I was satisfied with the fix. I give them 4 stars, that's cause to me that's an A. Good job Jose Peppers Barry road. I might add the map location is wrong. The address is
511 NW Barry Rd, Kansas City
(816) 468-2100

Helpful?
Thank KCRACIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere but service is lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of 4 frequent this restaurant and is a favorite of my two children (ages 11 and 9). The food is always excellent and the margarita deal is hard to beat (2 for $7). The problem with the restaurant is the service. It used to be perfect, but they switched to a different way to serve its patrons. Instead of having one waiter or waitress, they work on a "group waiting". So throughout your meal, you can deal with up to 5 individuals. The problem... there are visits we've had where it takes quite a long time to be served, while other times we have multiple people constantly asking if we're ready to order, need drinks, etc. (can be annoying). Plus you could have one person who is excellent at what they do and another that's not so good. So how do you tip?

Jose Peppers: go back to individual servers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TC_in_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

From an out of towner -- this place rocks! Great mex food and margs with plate bending size portions. Try the Baja burrito if you feel like you can eat a horse. Chips and dip are great...everyone raved about the cheese dip. Service was, hmmm, just okay. The place isn't fancy and heard from locals that in the past the food was hit or miss but with new mgmnt improved dramatically. Lots of variety on menu too. Loved it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A regular treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We regularly go to this restaurant and missed it when it was closed for renovation. The staff is always excellent and the food is always good. In fact it's been one of our favorite places to take family and friends for the past ten years since we first found it. Never a bad surprise or disappointment, and never a bad customer service experience--and that's saying something!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KCwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Arizona
Level Contributor
298 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Best Cheese Dip- Great service & Good Food, too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Really, the cheese dip is super yummy! I also love their thin fresh chips and chunky fresh salsa. The service here is sort of magical...everyone wears these head sets to communicate. You will not run out of a drink or chips here! The menu here is tex-mex style, but I really like the variety in choices. Good choice for mexican style food!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Pepper's also viewed

 

Been to Jose Pepper's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing