We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Architecture”

Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #5 of 154 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hershey, PA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Architecture”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We attended a private function at this UNBELIEVABLE work of art. I spent the first 30 minutes in awe of the architecture, design and overall experience. We got a tour of the eastern side stage which is all wood and has some of the best acoustics that I've heard. The view from the organ was beautiful. I only wish I could experience a show in that venue

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HersheyFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    61
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Merriam, Kansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue, superb acoustics!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What's not to love? The place is breathtaking and an engineering and design marvel in glass and steel cables! The sound is amazing - there's nary a bad seat in the house! The rails which house the small, discreet screens that offer the libretto or other info are sometimes a bit in the way, particularly in the wings, but necessary. Also when you're up in the cheap seats with us, if someone leans forward in front of you, they will likely block your view. C'est la vie... It's always a favorite venue for us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

You know you are in for a musical night when the parking garage has piped in music! The building is a sight to see. We went early to check out the buildings interiors. We were not disappointed. The view of downtown is wonderful as well. Our concert was in the smaller theater. The acoustics were wonderful. We totally enjoyed our visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank snider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening....”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Went to opening season night for the KC symphony. We had great seats and an unforgettable performance. Well worth the money. $75 a person for 2.5 hours of impeccable classical music. The hall is perfect and the sound doesn't get any better. Only complaint was the parking. There was just simply not enough. Wasn't prepared to park 6 blocks away and walk uphill in heels. Oh well. Even some of the musicians were late because of the parking situation. Maybe it was just an off night but be prepared just in case. Beautiful place and fantastic symphony.

Helpful?
Thank DSArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently enjoyed a tour of this beautiful facility while attending a high school reunion! Now, I want to return to attend a performance in both of the theaters. what a crown jewel this is for the city of Kansas City as well as the performing arts.
It is also a prime example of what Ewing Kauffman built starting out as a sales representative for a major pharmaceutical manufacturer, and later to develop his own company, Marion Laboratories, making and selling his own discovery, OsCal, calcium supplements made from oyster shell calcium! Isn't this what America used to be all about? Thanks Ewing Kauffman for all your contributions human health and the arts!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank furnreptoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing