We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Performing Arts Center”

Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #5 of 153 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Performing Arts Center”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to a performance at this venue. Parking was excellent. So nice you do not have to go outside to enter the venue. Every seat in the house is excellent. Seating very comfortable and wide. All employees very knowledgable about the venue and also very friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coachlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    61
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to see a show”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This center is unlike any performing center we have been to. It is very contemporary on the outside. Sound is incredible and seats are comfortable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrowneEyedGirl456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“State of the Art Facility!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife came to visit me while I was making a reality show with the Kansas City Police Department. We've spent a lot of time in New York and live in Los Angeles. We're serious theater snobs. Slightly reminiscent of the opera house in Sydney, just based on the exterior of the facility, we kind of had high expectations of the concert hall itself. Well, we went to see the theater's performance of "The Barber of Seville." Theater snobs that we are, we were not just impressed with the performances of the large cast, but the acoustics and over all ambience of the facility blew us away. The Oscars or Grammys could be hosted here! The design and decorative aesthetic is easily the measure of any of the great venues in Los Angeles. The only one that has it beat in my opinion (but how can you beat being outside, under the stars, and in perfect weather?) is the Hollywood Bowl. Still, very impressive. I don't know when I'll be back in Kansas City, but, when I am, if there's a performance of any play going on at the Kauffman Center, I'll be there!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jewle box in Kansas City”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Regularly attend events ant the Kauffman Center. Parking is easy, staff is attentive and while the lobby is somewhat stark and cold, the interier of the Murial Kauffman theatre is like being iside of a faberge egg. It is stunning. I have yet to attend a performance in Helzberg Hall, but can't wait to see and hear.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ballet! very cool”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

took my daughter to see the ballet here. Very modern building. Great setting, great seats (not too expensive) and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldhStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing