We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary facility”

Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #5 of 154 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An extraordinary facility”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This a gem for Kansas City--a lovely modern facility to showcase our performing arts. The acoustics in the Helzberg Hall are excellent. It is remarkable place to go to see a ballet or hear a symphony. There is plenty of parking spaces; the seats in the theaters are comfortable. Good viewing from any seat. Kansas City has hit a home run with the Kauffman Center!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AKSherb207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    61
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having been to a number of the great venues in the US and Europe, we were hoping that the experience of a performance at the Kauffman Center would be commensurate with the stunning architecture of the hall. We finally got our chance with the KC Ballet production of Carmina Burana, and we were blown away by both the hall and the performance. Kansas City now has something to be very proud of, and I hope that it will take this treasure seriously and become one of the arts jewels in the US. Good job.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MHerisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kauffman Center”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We did not go to the show. We went there during the day. Parked right in front the place. Walked in and someone in the center will help you with some information if you have.
There was a rehearsal that day, so we couldn't you to stage.
We walked up to the 2nd floor took some pictures and spent some time admire the architecture of the building. It is new, clean, and beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“world class”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We're lucky to have this world class venue in Kansas City and I enjoy the diversity of local and national groups that can be seen there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank reynsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Puts KC area on THE arts map!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

WOW! Gorgeous in and out, great acoustics, sophisticated. Just don't get there late if your seats are in the center of the hall!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing