We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    135
    180
    123
    169
See reviews for
242
153
78
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently stayed here for a 4-night stay; purchased air/rental car/hotel on priceline.com and took a chance on this hotel. Our room was on the 3rd floor, with two queen beds.

PROS: Very specious room. Very Clean. Beds were amazingly comfortable for a budget hotel. Air conditioner worked fine. Breakfast was decent and available early (4:00 am). Parking free. Microwave and fridge in room; flat screen TV. Free wifi internet.

CONS: bathtub was very slippery, and nothing to hold onto for balance. No pool. No restaurant in walking distance.

Would stay again and would recommend.

Room Tip: our room on the third floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HTOTMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager24, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 816 270 1200.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Thanks to your responsive staff for their prompt response. Somehow my reservation had me in a smoking room, but they changed me quickly with a smile to non-smoking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager24, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Ron Remington:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 816 270 1200.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I'm afraid I have to side with the critics on this one. Spending one night in four in hotels and motels, I've learned to take the rough with the smooth. In particular, I don't expect operating-theatre levels of cleanliness in a $79-a-night room. But this Microtel is closer to the "rough" end of the spectrum than most patrons will like. There's very little in the rooms that isn't exuberantly stained: carpets, chairs, sinks, etc. Of the six pillows that awaited me in my twin-bedded room, only one was not deeply yellowed by what looked like several years' accumulation of drool (whether human or canine -- the hotel accepts pets, and it seems that many patrons avail themselves of the facility -- only a forensic scientist could say).

The management is amiable, but overstretched. In the evenings, a single clerk mans the desk and drives the airport shuttle, with the result that he is much more often absent than present. The staff seems to struggle more than a little with the English language -- in the lobby, guests are confronted with a printed notice containing the cryptic announcement "In reference to maintain quality and standard we are under process of shampoo carpet" -- causing difficulty for those patrons whose own English is less than perfect. Overall, it's hard to avoid the impression that the owners are concerned above all with putting as little as possible into the business and taking as much as possible out of it.

On the whole, then, I'd give this one a miss. There are many competitors in the same price range where better value for money will be obtained -- even the Super 8 next door might be a viable alternative. It's not an absolute hell-hole. If all else failed, I'd spend a night here again and take my chances (leaving my clothing and baggage in the bathroom: multi-legged creatures don't like cold tiles) as opposed to crashing out in the back seat of my car. But short of a hurricane or flood, I can't think of anything that would cause me to stay two nights.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Businesstraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Worst hotel ever.Filthy,dirty conditions. Across from our room was a door held open by broken tiles-beer cans all over,laundry chute open with a broom handle-so unsafe!DO NOT stay here.Shuttle driver was front desk - no ride to the airport when needed. Check in took forever. DO NOT stay here!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here. Not worth it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager24, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Microtel Inn & Suites at kansas city Mo.Please accept my apology for your unpleasant experince at our proeprty. Please give us one more chance to serve you better in future.
We are looking forward for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I paid about $40 a night and stayed 2 nights in April. For this price range, this is a great hotel and best value. Free WiFi, average continental breakfast, close to the airport and friendly staffs.
Rooms were nice & clean and in a ok condition. I'm reviewing this place with the price range in mind. Its not the best hotel but best value for the money. Definitely not bad for a night or two. For this price range I have seen really bad motels. If you need just a place to stay near the airport then I would recommend this place.
I didn't face any issues during my stay and also didn't spend much time inside the hotel.
Kansas City airport is pretty lame & outdated. If I come back to this area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyHighTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager24, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Microtel Inn & Suites at Kansas city Mo. We sincerely appricate your compliments.Your opnion is extermely valuable to us . Please come again in future and give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We'd say never stay the hotel again in the future for three reasons:

1. Every dirt
2. Not reasonable charge for $25.00 for check in at 12:00 -- we booked the room online with hotels.com. There was no any fine line states we have check in after 3:00 pm. When arrival at 12:00 noon, the front desk say need $25.00 for early check in. Just a cheater.
3. Parking need additional $5.00 per night. There are a lot free parking space surrounding. Just a joke to cost your $$.
4. States having airport picking up. But never show up. Only wast your time!

Overall, it was so bad experiences, advise you never use it!

Room Tip: Chose the next one, called Clarion Hotel, 10 steps away. This is great place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Kansas City International Airport
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Plaza Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
#65 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
13.8 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport
Address: 11831 NW Plaza Cir, near Kansas City International Airport, Kansas City, MO 64153-1115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is recently renovated. We are only 2 miles away from MCI airport. We have 24 hours shuttle service to airport. Free breakfast, free phone calls, free Wi-Fi in rooms and business center in lobby. Our bedding meet any five star hotels bedding standards. We offer complimentary water bottle and cookies. Restaurants and shopping centers are within a 5 miles radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Microtel Inn And Suites Kansas City
Microtel Hotel Kansas City
Microtel Kansas City
Kansas City Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing