We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We've been driving for days so when we realized that Kansas City would be our next stop I started looking thru Trip Advisor for a place for the night. There I found out about the casinos.
Food, a bed & some fun all in one place was just what we needed!
Check in was easy & quick.
We had potato skins that were loaded with bacon & medium buffalo wings at the sports bar. Both were really good & the wings were meaty.
Not big gamblers...won a little, lost a little but had fun. The upstairs actually has a smoke free area - overall the smoke smell was ok. Upstairs was better.
Then we art at the steakhouse. We had the grilled oysters & they were delicious. We also had the prime rib which was pretty good considering I don't really like prime rib. Scalloped potatoes were yummy!
Only thing the room didn't get that cold - we kept it on 65 but it's because the thermostat is too close to the supply air so it shuts off before the room gets cold. (We do air conditioning & heating :)

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank lastpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

We are definitely going to put in a service request to look at our rooms’ tempature. Thank you for your feedback and your review. We are pleased to hear you had a fun time, hope you visit us again sometime, hopefully soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Checked in early on Sunday the 30th of March stayed til Tuesday. Room was perfect and ready. I was a little bummed it was on the first floor because I didn't get a view but not having to wait on an elevator was a definite plus. If you are a fan of clean fancy bathrooms you need to get a mini-suite. Water pressure was amazing and there were 2 sinks! I got a smoking room but none of my friends noticed any lingering odor. Buffet AMAZING. PEARLS OYSTER BAR ALSO AMAZING. The casino floor was nice and lots of options no waits for any table games or poker. There is a movie theater on site which more than makes up for no pool or workout facilities. The entire time I stayed i didnt need to leave the property once. Debbie at the front desk was friendly and charming. She got me checked in less than 5 mins after I showed up. She also secured my next amazing stay which I honestly cant wait for!

Room Tip: The rooms come with a I-home I-pod dock/portable speakers make sure they are actually plugged in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gutentag11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent a night at the Ameristar on our first visit to Kansas City. We enjoyed the hotel and the casino. The casino was clean, smoke smell was well filtered and the employees were friendly and helpful. The only thing that surprised us (which was not the fault of the hotel) was that the riverfront was not developed. I had not done my research well enough apparently as we thought there would be other things around the waterfront. Just something to note if you've never been to Kansas City.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squirrely2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The service at this hotel/casino was great. Front desk check-in was a breeze- super friendly and nice. The waitstaff in both restaurants were fast and friendly. I had to wait 10 minutes in the casino while my slot was serviced and a manager came by and offered apologies and a $15 food comp. Who does that? Obviously great management here.

What keeps this hotel from receiving 4 stars is the room itself. Very worn. From stained chairs to chipped and scratched furniture, it is looking quite sad. They are long overdo for an update. Everywhere else in the hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnktvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

I am pleased to hear you received great service while visiting. Thank you for your feedback regarding room upgrades. I will pass this along to our property management team right away! Thank you for being our guest and we sure do hope to see soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a king junior suite for one night and were not disappointed, nor blown away with anything in the room. We have no complaints and would definitely stay here again. The rooms are starting to get a bit dated, especially the carpet, however the room and bathroom were very clean. The TV was the best part of the room actually. The mattress was average, a bit firm for our liking.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel attached to the largest casino in Kansas City. If you're wanting to stay at a casino in the Kansas City area, this would be a good choice. I can't compare it to the others, as I haven't stayed at any of them, but I would definitely say this place is above average.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLBogert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I am the event planner for a large corporation and we have hosted several events at Ameristar. Kent Korte and his team did an impeccable job. Ashley took care of me at the hotel and Tyler is the best server at Amerisports! I highly recommend using them for business and for personal travel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterflygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I had my two and three year old children in the room and we found pot in the room and pills under the couch.. management stated they apologize that there standard of clean does not match my standard and sometimes things get overlooked... what is wrong with people... They made it out to be no big deal.... I SAY NEVER WILL I GIVE THEM MY BUSINESS. ....

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csybrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our property. Finding any type of debris in your room is not acceptable. We did confirm (with the assistance of a Missouri Gaming Officer) that a sweet tart and an ibuprofen were unfortunately missed by our team. We immediately addressed this by reiterating the importance of thoroughly checking under the couches with the entire team. We are extremely grateful for your feedback as this helps us improve upon our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.3 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
3,038 reviews
13.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
1.4 mi away
Ramada Kansas City
Ramada Kansas City
#78 of 109 in Kansas City
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
798 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
7 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Address: 3200 Ameristar Dr, Kansas City, MO 64161-9223
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#33 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $103 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing