We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ameristar! Truly a 5 star casino!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Isle if capri no hotel not even in the ranks.hollywood nice casino but no hotel not in the ranks. Agosy casino nice but small hotel not in the ranks. Ok now harrahs terrible! Hotel nice size but rooms smell like pets and no microwave and they want you to pay for internet for 24 hours. Crazy. Not in the ranks. AMERISTAR! now were talking 5 star casino THE BIG BOSS of all the casinos ,big hotel, the best service, rooms are nice and clean and direct tv, microwaves and free internet. AMERISTAR IS TRULY THE 5 STAR CASINO OF KC! Thanks for being the best! Thanks yours truly Jamar Nelson

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamarnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 348 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

My friends and Me went to smoke a cigarett e on the casino floor. While our husbands were gambling spending at least 500+ dollars. We were rudely interrupted by woman named Lisa who told me I was to intoxicated to enter the floor after
One drink (you can look at the survailence camera) I was not intoxicated at all and rudely kicked out!. As long as this woman is employed I will never return and will tell My friends to never go there!!! This lady was so rude Ans even cursed at us. I will not be treated like this and i don't want mY friends to experience this! Tell your security not to act like from the Jersey shore! Immature. Vegas should shut you down a disgrace!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hcox233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

I'm so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your experience. We want all of our guests to be treated with respect and have a quality experience when visiting our property. We must also follow Missouri Gaming laws and ensure that no one is intoxicated while on the casino floor. We appreciate your feedback and would like to follow up with you. Please feel free to send your contact information and details of your experience to AtYourServiceKC@ameristar.com and we are more than happy to follow up with you. Thank you for visiting and we do hope you reconsider and continue to be our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I booked a room to celebrate our 11 year anniversary on Saturday, 2/2. We checked in and enjoyed how clean and quiet it was in our suite. We played video poker all night, didn't do too well, but enjoyed our stay. Breakfast at the buffet was good!

Once we got home we discovered that my mother had called the hotel, ordered champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to be delivered to our room, had to run around to find a fax machine to fax her credit card beforehand, and her card was charged. We were never notified, and no strawberries or champagne ever made their way to our room. My mom must have thought we were rude, as we never thanked her. Today she finally asked if we ever received, and upon finding out we had no idea what she did, called the hotel. She was told that there is no manager on the property on a Monday, and the only manager will not be present until midnight. What a ridiculous response!

Stay at this hotel if you have absolutely NO special requests. Do not trust them to fulfill any long distance special favors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thanks so much for celebrating your anniversary with us and for sharing your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast buffet. I apologize about the mix-up regarding your champagne and strawberries. We work hard to accommodate special requests and I’m so sorry we fell short this time. We are in contact with your mother with every intention of making things right. Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Do not go here! 5 beers in 6 hours. Seriously that was it. Waited an hour at the craps table for the waitress to return with 1 beer I ordered. I guess she forgot about me. We had a hotel room for our anniversary. Yeah I got upset after an hour and said something. Next thing I know I'm being pulled aside because the waitress told them I was too intoxicated to serve. Wtf! The boss lady confirmed I was just fine and let me go back to the table. Screw that! The waitress screwed up and tried to make me the scapegoat. Yeah I'm upset and humiliated. That's what I get for expressing my displeasure with the service here. I left the table immediately and went back to the room. Last time i'll ever spend another penny here. Count on it. Don't come here if you want to have fun and enjoy a night away. The staff can just blame you anytime they want for their incompetence.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lakeluvr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

I'm so sorry you were unhappy with your visit. We want all of our guests to enjoy their time with us and receive exceptional service. We must also follow Missouri Gaming laws and ensure intoxicated guests are not on the casino floor. I apologize for any mix-up and we would like to follow up with you. Please feel free to send your contact information and any other details to AtYourServiceKC@ameristar.com and we would be more than happy to get in touch with you. We do hope you reconsider and continue you to be our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

because i've used my rewards card in the casino, we had earned a number of free nights..it was so worth it. hotel is beautiful, clean, and quiet!! will absolutely be back!! the reservation was easy to make, easy to redeem, very friendly staff

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelaelliott77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I checked in on Jan. 3rd to a Deluxe King Spa room we reserved in Oct. The check in person was very courteous and professional. The room was more than what we expected. The only thing it needed was a mini microwave for heating up leftovers. We played in the Casino both nights and did very well. My husband even hit a jackpot on a slot machine. We wanted to stay one more night but since it was a Sat. we expected a different room. Cassie, the clerk, discovered there was a mix up on the sweetheart pkg I bought so she contacted a host, Rhonda, and based on our Star Award cards, they not only made sure the sweetheart pkg was honored another night, they also comp the room we were already staying in. Though Sat. we both were feeling under the weather and didn't play much, we had room service and it was perfect! Our first visit at the hotel was so absolutely magical that we are coming back in March for my birthday and in July for our 18th yr anniversary. I highly recommend staying at the hotel and play at the casino. All the staff people (clerks, cleaning, valet, room service, hosts, etc.) will do anything to make it right so you will have a fabulous stay and wonderful time at their establishment!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks so much for your recommendation, Dianne. I'm glad you had a great first visit and we look forward to seeing you in March! Thanks for choosing to celebrate your special occasions with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend one night in the hotel, and called at the last minute for reservations. We were looking for a non-smoking room with a king bed. They had a king mini-suite available, or the king suite, which they said was like a one bedroom apartment (and was considerably higher priced). We reserved the mini-suite, and arrived and checked in with no problems. The valet (free with hotel stay), and front desk clerk were very friendly and accommodating. When we went to our room, we were quite shocked to discover that it was already inhabited by someone else. We returned to the front desk, and the clerk apologized profusely, and upgraded us to the king suite at no extra charge. Well, the suite was fabulous, with more amenities that I could dream of, and extremely clean. I was very impressed with the service and friendliness of all the hotel and casino staff. We ate twice at the Horizons Buffet while there, and it was exceptional as well. I would recommend this hotel highly. My only regret was that I didn't win much at the casino!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissouriTraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting and for sharing your review. I do apologize for the mix up with your room and thank you for being understanding. I'm glad you enjoyed your king suite and Horizons Buffet. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.3 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
3,178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Kansas City
Ramada Kansas City
#79 of 111 in Kansas City
332 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 111 in Kansas City
1,203 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
9.5 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Address: 3200 Ameristar Dr, Kansas City, MO 64161-9223
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#33 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $117 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing