We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It may cost you more than you expect.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
North Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“It may cost you more than you expect.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This property is fairly nice though not nearly as nice as their St. Charles property. There is no pool or gym at the hotel and if you look at the AMENITIES & SERVICES on their web site you find that they have many ATM machines, check cashing and foreign exchange to make it convenient for you to get cash to blow in the CASINO. All the restaurants are nice and serve good food, not too overly priced and there is even a movie theater to send the kids to while you play. So as you can see, it is really all about the CASINO. If you play I recommend that you use your player card so when you lose lots of money you can get food comps or a very small percent of your cash back. Also by using your player card you can keep track of how much money you lose, not that you can deduct it from your taxes. Also take note that if you use your credit card at the cashier to get a cash advance you better read the fine print on your card agreement. Some cards will cancel your credit for purchasing gambling chips. Basically this property is about taking your money and putting it into their pocket so if you want somewhere to go and blow your savings account this is your ticket. Even if you’re just here for a ball game, graduation, wedding or other event, you can’t really avoid the casino as it is right there at the hotel. So come to KC, have a good time but beware of the slot machines, they are very alluring and the atmosphere will let you get carried away. Don’t expect to win anything. I’ve visited this casino over 500 times and know all of the machines well, yet I have only won on 3 occasions, that adds up to well under 1% player hold. I’ve met visitors who got carried away and spent way over their budget, so it may cost you. After all, it is a CASINO. Good luck, have a safe and happy trip wherever you choose to stay.

Room Tip: If you get a room higher up you might have to wait on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank MoMan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
I’m sorry you feel this way, MoMan43. We do appreciate you staying with us and your feedback. We see you enjoy concerts - if you’re looking for something other than the casino and you stay with us on the weekends, you may want to check out our live music on the train in Depot #9. Also our brewery, Amerisports, always has all the big games on our 52 screens, an extensive menu and a selection of beers that we brew here on site. Hope your next visit is a better one. Look us up on Facebook or Twitter with any questions during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    77
    41
    29
    22
See reviews for
60
111
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branson West, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our recent stay at the Ameristar was excellent. The rooms were large, comfortable and spotless. Check was fast and the receptionist was pleasent and helpful. The entire property is clean and safe. The casino is easy to get to and the sellection of restaurants on the property is amazing. The buffet is well worth stopping at. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for your recommendation and for visiting! I'm glad you had a fun stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

On checking in, the front desk clerk was very courteous and helpful. As I was in the elevator on my way to the room, I noticed that the carpet in the elevator had just been replaced--obviously part of regular, on-going maintenance at the hotel. My hotel room was very clean and in good condition. The furnishings in my room all appeared to be new and in working order and the only criticism of the room is that the lighting wasn't very good. The room had a desk with free high speed internet service that I used during the trip with no problem. The only real downside to the stay was that the trip was for two days. After the first night, I left a tip of $5.00 for the housekeeper (which I consider to be fairly generous), yet the housekeeper did not replace two used bath towels. The two old towels were removed but no clean towels were provided which left my wife and I with only a single towel for the two of us on our last day. We were disappointed with the housekeeper (who didn't receive a tip on our last day) but believe that this was likely an isolated event or the hotel would not have been nearly as clean as it was. I've been to this hotel/casino several times in the past and never had a similar problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us and for sharing your review. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding your towels. We appreciate your understanding, as we do our best to make sure each and every guest receives hospitable service while staying with us. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Room was nothing special. There was a KC Chiefs vs Oakland Raiders game that day. All kind of football fans staying there and only one person at the desk to check in with. Went to the buffet downstairs for supper. And even though there were more than 50 empty tables I waited over 7 mins after paying for my food(doesn't count the 5 waiting to pay) and still hadn't been seated before I asked for a refund. The manager came up and said to the cashier "oh he has only been waiting 7 mins for a seat". I feel my time is valuable and to me with that many tables empty why is it taking so long. Again it was over priced it would have been over 22 dollars.

Also this large hotel and gaming place does not have a shuttle to and from anywhere including the airport.

Room Tip: I would stay somewhere else and if you wanted to travel then stay somewhere else and drive over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Pat, I'm so sorry if you were unsatisfied with your experience with us. We want all of our guests to receive quality service when they visit. We do really value your time and feedback, and I will be sure to pass it along. Please feel free to reach out to us at atyourservicekc@ameristar.com with your contact info and details of your visit and we will get back to you to personally discuss you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

As all the other reviews say, this is a very nice property! The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very plush, and I really liked the location overlooking the River. We upgraded to a Players Suite for $10 a night, and it was well worth it to have a sitting area and a balcony. As for the casino, all 4 of the people with me came away with more money then we came with. Three of us were playing table games and 1 a combination of table games and slots. The comp system in the casino is a little bit confusing, but the staff is more then happy to explain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLaymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I'm so glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your Players Suite! Thanks for sharing your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I don't get to come to Kansas City often, but when I do I always stay at the Ameristar. Their Service Is A+, the rooms are great. They are accomandating to your needs and very helpful. The valet service is fast and friendly. I reccommand anyone to stay and enjoy the hotel and casino it so much fun. I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Ask About upgrades, you won't believe your eyes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lacresha5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for the recommendation! I'm happy to hear you had a fun and exciting experience with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and myself travel out through KC on the way to UT one time a year and always look forward to staying at the Ameristar in KC. This is a first class hotel and casino. The rooms are great and the casino has the latest slots and games. The hotel and Casino are located in an area where it is quite and easy accessable from I-435. Already looking forward to next year. We have stayed here for the past four years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hey Horace, thanks for posting your review and for your loyalty over the years. I'm glad you and your wife enjoy visiting us and we look forward to seeing the two of you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.3 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
7.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa Kansas City
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
#70 of 113 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Worlds of Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
Address: 3200 Ameristar Dr, Kansas City, MO 64161-9223
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#33 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City is a luxury hotel with 184 guestrooms. With 3,000 slot and video poker machines and 60 table games, this Kansas City casino is one of the biggest in the country. After exciting gaming action you may choose from nine appetizing dining options at this Kansas City hotel. The restaurants in Kansas City at Ameristar range from a sports-infused brew-pub to fine dining in an Old West inspired atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Kansas City
Ameristar Casino Kansas City Mo
Ameristar Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing