We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlfriends weekend on the Plaza--Wonderful suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for weekend in a 2 room suite with kitchenette which included microwave, cooktop and full size refrigerator. We were on 4th floor and could hear occ. people laughing next door and shower running overhead; otherwise, no problems with sleep or relaxing. Furnishings were nice, bed slept well, temperature control was even. Breakfast was a full breakfast. Wifi was slow at times but it was adequate and FREE. Location was great. Walking up and down hills was not a challenge for us--more of plus as far as exercise. Parking garage was great too. Basically, very positive stay and will repeat it!!

Room Tip: Suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Putthoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 925 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for just one night on business. The underground parking garage is free of charge for guests, which is a definite plus, especially in bad weather. The hotel is a short walk from the numerous restaurants and shops of the historic Plaza, which also has a movie theatre. It really is a delightful area. (Who knew that KC is second only to Rome with its fountain population?) The room was clean, and I was on the top (9th) floor, so it was fairly quiet. Only negative was the rickity shower door. I didn't bother with breakfast as Starbucks was beckoning... Would definitely stay here again - hope to spend more time exploring the area next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheekywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on a weekend trip to KC. Our room was on the top floor so no noise from people above. Room was very quiet as no noise from rooms on either side and we were also close to the elevator. Had a 2 room suite with small refrig and microwave. Whirlpool tub in bathroom.

Location to the Plaza was excellant, just off the plaza but still close enough to walk.

Staff was very friendly.

Garage parking was a plus as it was rather rainy during our stay.

Breakfast was your standard hotel free breakfast.

Would stay here again on next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here for three nights during a recent business conference, and found it adequate for my needs, and at a lower price than other nearby hotels.

Pros:
* The cost in comparison to other nearby upscale hotels cannot be ignored. While nearby competitors may have somewhat more luxurious amenities (in-room kitchenette, larger rooms, etc), Hampton can be a smart choice if budget is a high priority.
* The breakfast buffet is definitely better than a coffee/donut stand, has hot and cold items, and is free for hotel guests.
* The room was rather clean. The shower in my bathroom had been very recently redone, with an inline water temperature sensor to prevent a scalding-hot or biting-cold water flow.

Cons:
* Even though I was on the first floor, relatively close to the lobby, my WiFi connection was rather spotty. This was true with both a laptop and smartphone.
* At the time I visited, the fitness room next to the pool was under renovation and had been relocated into two rooms right next to the lobby. Unfortunately, that was also right next to my room. Thank goodness I was already getting ready for my conference by 6 am each morning, or I would have been awakened by the steady whirr-whirr-whirr of the treadmill just beyond the wall.
* The Hampton is situated on a hill overlooking the Plaza; however, much of the view is blocked by other buildings. While it's easy to walk downhill toward the Plaza's numerous shopping and dining establishments, the rather steep uphill return will seem rather long.
* Although nicely done, the shower had an unfrosted glass sliding door rather than a curtain, and a large seating platform at the end opposite the shower head; this may be alright for a solo traveler, but members of a family or couple would get no privacy in the shower at all. I think I would have preferred a frosted or tempered glass door that provided at least an illusion of modesty.

These sticking points, however, are relatively minor. For the proximity to the Plaza and the price, this hotel is rather hard to beat, especially to those who would rather redirect some of that money to the upscale shopping and dining options nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dXTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This Hampton is larger than most. The nearby Plaza area of shops and restaurants makes it a great choice for the location alone.

Hampton has a somewhat puzzling PR campaign going on, which we first encountered here. They are making a big deal out of the fact that the have clean sheets -- signs in the elevator, even a sticky note on the headboard heralding the fact that the sheets are clean. Really??? Way to go, Hampton!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onecentworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great hotel - just off "The Plaza". Great staff, room perfect, free secure parking! We did not take advantage of the free Breakfast, but the selection looked great. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Our room was on the right side to see "The Plaza", however the view is blocked by a Sherat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites for a 2 night business trip. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was most helpful and the location is in the heart of the Plaza district-great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjfromva040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 Summit St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $171 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, located in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri on the Country Club Plaza. The Plaza is a beautiful historic destination offering a prime location for shopping and dining. The Plaza has European feel featuring Spanish architecture, fountains, and meandering walkways. You will find small boutiques as well as national chains. Enjoy local Kansas attractions such as the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Crown Center, Starlight Theatre, Sprint Center, Performing Arts Center, and the Power & Light District. Our Kansas City hotel provides all of the amenities you expect while traveling including little extras such as complimentary electric vehicle charging stations. Stay connected with our free WiFi access provided throughout the hotel, including our meeting rooms. Start each day of your stay with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag on your way out. Get a great workout in our fitness center, and unwind in our large, heated indoor pool. Join us in the lobby of our Kansas City hotel for our complimentary Evening Reception* offered Monday through Thursday. Parking is easy with us, and complimentary, in our private garage and outdoor parking lot suitable to accommodate buses. If you need to host a business meeting or social gathering, our Kansas City hotel offers 5,000 sq. Ft. Of space in seven meeting rooms, designed to accommodate up to 250 attendees. We offer full meeting services including A/V and catering. Let our professional sales staff make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Country Club Plaza
Hampton Inn & Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Hampton Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing