We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hotel in Convenient Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Convenient Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel both going to and returning from a college reunion. It is located near the freeway and close to a shopping center, several nice restaurants, and gas stations. The rooms are clean and modern. The staff is extremely helpful. The only shortcoming I found was that the electric plug for my c-pap machine was hard to find in the room we had for the return trip. On the way down, a plug was conveniently located on the wall next to the bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    127
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
266
141
28
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a great hotel in a fantastic location on the north side. Quiet area. Clean room. Friendly staff. Pool was a nice, clean area. We would stay here again if we were in the area. Breakfast area was nice with plenty of space for everyone to find a table.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ainchsmom3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, KS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

After taxes the price for one night was $150.00. I have no problem paying this as long as it is worth it. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. Staff friendly. The A/C is a thermostat on the wall so the air kept clicking on and off all night long, light that came through the door made it hard to sleep and when the A/C was off you could hear as other guests' room doors opened and closed. All. Night. Long. Pool was freezing but the hot tub was really nice. The floor in the pool room was un level and slippery and I was scared I was going to fall the whole time. It has a good location and an amazing shower. Hot water with awesome water pressure. I could never stay here again though because of how hard and uncomfortable the beds are.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmiller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gkoch0318, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay with us. I want to personally apologize that the beds were not of the high standards we expect.

We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything is like new, in place and of the highest quality. I am sorry this was not the case during your stay. You can be confident that we have followed-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Please contact me directly so I can gather more details and make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewell, Iowa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Not one glitch. With reasonable rates, a totally well-groomed facility, a friendly and helpful front desk folks, the experience got even better when we opened our 4th floor room door. Absolutely beautiful. Clean? It sparkled. Even the hallways are a colorful delight. The morning breakfast was pretty standard for a Hampton Inn, but somehow the seating areas added to the entire experience. If given a chance, we would look forward to our second stay.

Room Tip: Try to book ahead, for on our Friday night stay the motel was full. Our room was on the northwest si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Yes, we have stayed here before and every time we need to go to Kansas City we will stay here again. Some hotels are good sometimes and bad the next but this one is consistently good....all the time. Excellent and friendly customer service, clean and comfortable rooms, and great breakfast items. (Which include donuts, a favorite vacation luxury for me) Also the hotel is close to whatever you might need, Walmart, restaurants, fast food, etc. We are so thankful that we can always count on this Hampton Inn to be top notch. Greatly appreciated!!!

Room Tip: We ask for a quiet room, top floor and away from ice machine and stairs....and they give us just tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is very nice and updated. The location is far from downtown but has a lot of stores and restaurants nearby.

THE PROBLEM: We had a party of family and friends in for the KC v. ATL game; over 10 rooms. One friend who paid cash was locked out of his room because the claimed he never paid! How then did he get keys and stay the night before. So, after an hour of debating he gave them MORE MONEY because his things were still in room and he had to sleep somewhere! During dinner the hotel called him and says they had mistakenly put the cash on another room, MINE! When he told me that I checked my bank account and the hotel had authorized my room for a two night stay and incidentals TWO TIMES totaling $700, for a room only $119 a night!! When I told them they said it was an accident and would clear in 3 days!!! I was livid! After having night clerk call General Manager at home, call corporate, call my credit card, I finally got them to guarantee that it would be credited back in 24 hours but for something that was totally not my fault I was very upset, it took away from my trip, and I won't be staying at that location again. As of now, I am weary of all Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gkoch0318, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize for the frustration you and the other member of your party incurred when the actions of our staff did not meet your expectations.

We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else. I am sorry this was not your experience. You can be confident that we have followed up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again so that we can demonstate our commitment to your comfort.

Please contact me directly so I can gather more details and help make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Here for 5 days of business and picked this for the price. Wanted to be on the plaza but it was too expensive and this is about 30 minutes away. Easy drive to town but there are lots of restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are very nice...completely new. The front desk is great and I like the way my room always smelled clean. I faced the street but never heard one noise. The pool area is very clean. So plus plus for this Hampton!

Room Tip: Ask for the King non smoking...very spacious and a little desk work area with ample plug ins is a pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
16.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
11.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 113 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
16.0 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
13.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty

Property: Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Address: 8551 Church Rd, Kansas City, MO 64157-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 story 122 room interior facility. Meeting room and a wonderful On the House hot breakfast each morning with USA Today. Indoor pool with whirlpool and exercise room on site. High-speed internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing