We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Ranked #32 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First stay at a Fairfield Inn. The hotel is conveniently located just off for doing business near downtown and for shopping at the plaza and FREE Parking in a secure gated lot! Free shuttle really helped in going to our meetings.

The hotel was exceptionally clean, the room was well appointed and appeared to be all new bedding, carpeting, etc. the house keeping staff kept the room clean too. We liked that the lavatory was separate from the shower and stool. Great shower too. The lighting was a little less than we like but that's the new "green" bulbs all the hotels are going too :( Room had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc all provided. We also had a chair and ottoman. Our room was on the third floor facing the parking lot so we had some noise before we went to sleep but nothing that kept us awake or woke us :) The heat/air conditioning unit worked perfect! The only negative was the s l o w internet :( but not a deal breaker for us.

Continental breakfast was the normal fare of muffins, biscuits & gravy, hot oatmeal, cold cereal, juices, fresh fruit, coffee and tea. Fresh iced tea with lemons were a welcome treat every day all day and into the night! The front desk staff was wonderful, locals that knew the town they live in, and could offer best routes, recommendations, etc. Don't let this place fool you, it's a hidden gem and we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakesmom414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    119
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
81
61
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Honestly, it was an inexpensive room during a late-booking for a conference I was attending. What I got, though, was a surprisingly high level of hospitality (even for Kansas City it was high!) and value. Given its location, I anticipated paying for taxis to get down to the conference and over to restaurants. Nope: they offered a shuttle to wherever I was going, and then were happy (yes, HAPPY!) to come pick me up when I was done. All I had to do is ask.
The room was as good, if not better, than most Marriot rooms I've stayed in; certainly better than Sheraton ones: spacious, clean, well-laid out. Oh! And did I mention the breakfast that was included with the room price (cereal, sausage, eggs, breads and bagels, fruit, yogurt, juice, etc.)? My only suggested alteration would be for the hotel to switch to more organic/less toxic cleaning products, as the smells were my only unpleasant experience (consider using a citris-oil based product perhaps?). I would book there again in a heartbeat, even if rooms were available elsewhere. Nicely done Fairfield.

Room Tip: I faced the main street, which wasn't bad, though I suspect other rooms would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirenzeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was convenient as a home base for visiting Crown Center, LEGO Discovery Center, and Sea Life Aquarium. Had the weather been nicer we could have walked. It's also about midway between downtown and Country Club plaza. There aren't a lot of frills here, though they do have a small pool and exercise room. It was budget friendly and comfortable; I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This motel was clean and in a good location, close to downtown and close to the plaza. The staff were friendly and the pool area was small but nice; the water was a good temperature for swimming. The breakfast was the usual with cereal, waffles, yogurt, bagels, muffins SB and G, fruit, etc. The beds were comfy and the rooms were nice. Appreciated having a fridge and microwave in the room.The free parking was an added plus. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoytherideFriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Everything turned out WONDERFUL! From the staff to the room, expectations were definitely meet. I think i just found my new hotel spot in KCMO. The only problems I had was the inability to use side entrance key card and hotel shuttle was backed so close to the side entrance no one could get in or out of entrance because sidewalk was blocked and we had to walk all the way around. A small inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shortieinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holton, Kansas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had stayed at the Residence Inn several months ago and enjoyed it...however in looking at their price for our recent stay they were $30 more than Fairfield Inn. I think for the class Fairfield Inn beats out the Residence Inn. The bed, room, parking and cleanliness are equal but all in all Fairfield was just a little nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Can easily recommend this hotel to everyone. They had a security man walking the parking lot as I came into the area so very late at night. He introduced himself, showed ID, and walked me back to the hotel entrance. The staff was so personable, even the new shift in the morning. The hotel was so very clean as was our room. I stayed at 3 Fairfield Inns as I traveled from NWOhio to Colorado and back and couldn't have been more pleased. Breakfast was pleasant, checkout a snap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#54 of 112 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,990 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Property: Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Address: 3001 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64108-3323
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#39 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Fairfield Kansas City
Kansas City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing