We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Good, the Bad, and the noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Ranked #33 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, and the noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here 1 night for a medical trip to Children's Mercy. Location was good for that, but wouldn't be comfortable there if alone. Selected hotel for the extra space in a two-room suite at a reasonable price. First, the good: room had lots of space and was clean. The bad: Noisy! Our room faced the back of the hotel and there was constant noise. We had it all- planes, trains, trucks and sirens! Not only was it hard to go to sleep, I was awakened more than once during the night. Also, the hotel was not very busy and they still put us in a room right by the elevator so we got to listen to that too. Never have understood that choice by a hotel. For a bonus, we had an arguing couple on the other side of the extra room wall. Yikes. The TV's also go in the bad category for some type of reception issue. After being on one channel for a time they would start cutting out and having static. You could change the channel and it would go away, but come back after a while.

The breakfast was ok but understocked. There didn't seem to be anyone in charge of keeping it clean or stocked, so items were out. Staff was not rude but not nice either.

Overall, clean room with good space for the price, but can't recommend because of the noise issues and indifferent service.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank zimaaaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    114
    42
    11
    7
See reviews for
78
58
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celina, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Everything went great! The breakfast was excellent, the standard room was spacious enough for two adults and two children, and the persons at the front desk went above and beyond to see to our needs. We were shuttled to the convention center and our drivers were super nice and professional.

Room Tip: Our room was just standard on the third floor. It was quiet and we had not disturbances (and we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgkris1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Really not much to say, it's an economy motel/hotel. Has everything you need. Room was clean, bed was comfy, front desk was friendly. I left my jacket behind and they kept it for me in Lost and Found. I'd stay here again if I was coming back on business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeviTrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel before. It's in a so-so neighborhood, but convenient to many parts of town and the freeways. Standard Fairfield Inn: clean, efficient convenient. Front desk and breakfast area staff are very pleasant. I always stick to cold cereal at these buffets. Free wifi worked fine,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeingFrankWithU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Selected this hotel because some girlfriends and myself were planning on going to the haunted houses and then to the Power & Light District. The room was spacious, we had a corner room, so I think it had a little more room because of that. There appeared to be 2 different wedding parties staying there, and they were quite busy, but, had no problems checking in, or finding parking. The hotel had a shuttle, and Claude, one of the shuttle drivers, took us where we needed to go. He was wonderful!! Everyone was friendly and helpful and it was a great experience!

Room Tip: Room had a fridge and microwave, which was helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HardlyWaittoGetThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Service at the front desk was excellent. Free breakfast was good - yogurt, fruit, cereal, waffles, etc. They have 24 hour tea/hot chocolate/coffee in the lobby which is nice. I forgot my phone charger and called downstairs - they didn't have an extra but they printed me off a map of where the closest AT&T store was, which was very helpful. Also, they have a FREE shuttle that will take you to the plaza or anywhere else near the hotel. I was there on a crazy busy week for KC and since the shuttle was taking a while, they offered to give me a voucher for a free cab ride to where I needed to go and back. Parking is free and internet is free, which is a plus.
Rooms were nice - nothing special.
I will 100% stay here on business (or even for pleasure) again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theblondegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a nice hotel with reasonable rates very close to the World War I museum and Union Station. Room was large and clean and well appointed. When I stayed there, they were very busy with at least two wedding parties and yet they were handling it well. Beds were comfy.

There was an issue with my billing when it came through on my credit card bill and to their credit, they fixed it immediately with one phone call. Handled it very well.

Would definately recommend this to friends and will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyTop87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#55 of 111 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 111 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,947 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Property: Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Address: 3001 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#39 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown / Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Fairfield Kansas City
Kansas City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing