We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Ranked #35 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for a family weekend. Excellent greeting by Steve Hogan at the front desk, made us feel very welcome. The door people were sort of spotty, sometimes getting the door for us, other times hanging around their podium. When I asked about parking my van there no one could seem to tell me whether or not it would fit (it didn't), then it ended up on the street. Had to have the hotel credit my account upon checkout for the parking fee. Had my door knocked on (actually pounded on 3 times) at 3am by some over served guests. I didn't like the fact that there were no fridges in the room and the interior of the room appeared to be a bid dated. When I originally made my reservation it was for $139 per night and then I happened to be on Marriott website a few days later prior to my stay and found the same room for $99/night??? I brought it to Mr. Hogan's attention and he took care of it right away - must be new policy Marriott does now if their rooms don't book up. If you're looking to stay near the Plaza look at the Residence Inn close by or the Courtyard down there. Very fast elevators and nice work-out room. The shuttles back and forth from the Plaza are nice from what I saw. My wife said the staff at the Starbucks coffee shop downstairs were very nice. I'd like to see fridges in the room - there's lots of room for one and maybe a complimentary coffee urn up front. I saw the water/lemon dispenser, thank you! When the A/C kicks on in your room it sounds like a chain driven engine starting up - very loud, I was on the 6th floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPLZA, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was nice to see that Mr. Hogan took care of your requests at check - in, I will be sure to inform him of your kind words.

I was concerned to hear of some of the issues you experienced while with us - the spotty door service and noisy air conditioner are items I would like to address with the appropriate staff. Should you have the time available please contact the hotel's main phone number of 816-531-3000 and ask for the Guest Services Manager - I would be delighted to take your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    202
    99
    41
    29
See reviews for
94
126
28
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were attending a wedding and this particular Marriott the weekend of Aug 9-10 and was home base for those attending.

This hotel is located in the city and therefore you pay for everything and I mean EVERYTHING. Self parking was $15 a night, so that adds to the expense but is typical for most hotels in that area. No free internet. Very limited eating facilities.

Because we were attending a wedding, the nightly charge was somewhat reduced ($110 a night). There is a relatively limited restaurant on site but expect to pay $12 for a run of the mill sandwich and more for main entrees. Surprisingly all the eating facilities in the hotel were closed Saturday afternoon when we returned from a quick sightseeing trip to Harry Truman's home at 2:00 and we could get nothing to eat anywhere in the hotel (unless you ordered room service). So we were forced to get back in the car and drive to one of the local nearby restaurants to grab a quick bite to eat before attending a wedding. Don't know what one is supposed to do if they are hungry at this hotel at certain times on the weekend. Not sure if they close every day at 2:00 but it sure wasn't very convenient for guests and the nearest restaurants are about a quarter mile or more walk.

Overall the hotel was nice with all the usually trappings (and expenses) of an inner city downtown hotel. Rooms were standard size room, they were clean as was the bath room. Decent flat screen TV. Typical for most chain downtown hotels, there is no internet access unless you are willing to pay for the privilege.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Chattanooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPLZA, Guest Relations Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your trip to Kansas City!

I understand your frustrations in our full service restaurant not being open beyond 2:00pm - however we do have room service available every day from 6:00am until midnight along with our Great Room Lobby Lounge that opens at 4:00pm Monday through Thursday, 1:00pm on Friday and Saturday and 5:00pm on Sundays.

As a Full Service Marriott we do not offer complimentary internet in our guest rooms, however we do offer free wireless and wired internet on our Lobby Level 24 hours a day.

Thank you again for commenting - we hope to have you back with us for your next event or to visit your friends and family in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here on a recent family trip to KC. We had a short drive to and from Worlds and Oceans of Fun. The customer service at this hotel is the best we have encountered. They are so friendly and willing to go over and above what is expected. The kids got Twinkies when we checked in - they loved it! We took the free shuttle to and from the plaza. It was never more than a 5 minute wait. They had excellent suggestions for dinner as well. The hotel is clean and quiet. The only thing that could have made it better is a bigger pool area for the kids to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves in going the extra mile for each guest and we appreciate you recognizing that.

We look forward to serving you in the future!

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had a great stay. The staff was very friendly and were willing to help with everything that you needed. They have shuttles that will take you places locally if needed, so that you don't have to drive or take a cab everywhere. Disappointed that there was no free wi-fi in the rooms, especially if you are a Marriott rewards member, but you could go to the lobby and use it for free. The only problem with that is that the lobby is very noisy. The hotel was pretty busy when I went, so maybe when there aren't so many people staying there, then the noise may not be that bad. Also had hoped there was a fridge because sometimes if you go to a great restaurant, you may have leftovers, so our extra food had to go to wast. Overall, was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nclark32000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the great comments. We take great pride in our hotel, staff and service.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a reasonably nice hotel that charges for internet, $9, breakfast, $12, and parking $15.

We were given a room across from the elevators which dinged all night long. Noisy party two doors down which we had to call security about at 11 and 3AM and 3:3O am. Security was unable to keep it quiet for long.

No fridge in the room.

Saving the best for last, we saw want certainly appeared to be a "working girl" dressed in full funkadelic regalia in the lobby about 9PM. She was attractive, however...

We were given a discount when we complained about the noise the next day at the desk, but we will not be staying here again.

Do not stay here unless the above appeals to you.

Room Tip: Avoid the elevators. Doors to the room do not keep out noise very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gimignano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent two nights in July here , with my best friend. We are caring for elderly fathers and we needed a little break away. We hung out and watched movies in the comfortable beds, pillows need a little work....but overall we enjoyed the room with and all important mini fridge for our wine. We were so lazy that we pretty much stayed in the room, ordered out and watched movies. One night we had dinner on the plaza and then sat at the bar and drank a few glasses of wine, bartender was very nice. When we checked out, the front desk people were very helpful and nice with directions to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agfdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the great comments. We take great pride in our hotel, staff and service.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've been in the customer service industry for 15 years now so can be overly critical when it comes to how good I think a businesses customer service is. That being said this place was AMAZING! we had quite the trip getting down to this hotel with bad traffic from Iowa so we were a tad grumpy by the time we made it but the cheerfulness and helpfulness of EVERY single employee here helped us relax immediately. From the doorman to housekeeping to managers everyone is crazy friendly. I'd like to say annoyingly so but how can you be annoyed by a high level of niceness. On top of the fabulous service, the hotel was very nice. The bed was comfortable and room was perfectly clean. We would definitely stay here again. The only downside was it's $15/night for parking but it is enough so in the heart of country club plaza area that parking outside would make me a bit nervous and they have a free shuttle to take you to and from the plaza area if you don't want to walk so we really didn't use the car much anyway. Country Club plaza district is a short walk downhill but the way back is entirely uphill so they will give you a number and you can call the shuttle so you don't have to walk back on a full stomach or after a day of shopping if you don't want too. We highly recommend this hotel. Not only for the service and cleanliness but it's centrally located between the power and light district, country club plaza and is a VERY short drive to Union Station and the WWI museum. Drinks and food at the hotel are a bit pricey but the drinks were worth it and while I only had a salad and quesadilla's from the menu both were great. Well done Marriott!

Room Tip: The only reason sleep quality was low is because I'm a very light sleeper and our room looked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctier09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for recognizing our staff and service.
We take great pride in the service we offer and in our goal to make every guest feel at home.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 108 in Kansas City
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza

Property: Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Address: 4445 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#30 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza is a reimagined, modern and chic hotel in Kansas City, Missouri offering a convenient location in the Country Club Plaza near the city's top attractions. Our upscale accommodations are minutes from the Power & Light District, Sprint Center, Kauffman Stadium and Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, among other premier destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing