We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Ranked #34 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Grantville, KS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

At first, I thought the price was a bit steep, and while the hotel was lacking in some ways (cold bathroom, tight parking for $15, 'cool' hottub, and slow elevators), we really enjoyed the spacious room, the great!! burger while we drank at the bar, and the fabulous breakfast. I felt glad I added the $10 to the room rate for the buffett (which would have been 2 adults and 2 children for $10 if we had that many in our room). It had so many offerings and everything was very tasty! The location to the plaza is great. Because our next night's stay was elsewhere in KC, we learned that the rate we paid for location and what we enjoyed was worth it.

Room Tip: Add the breakfast for $10 if offered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the positive feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    198
    98
    38
    27
See reviews for
89
122
26
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel was just ok. I understand this hotel was recently rennovated. However, there was no wow factor I have come to expect from Marriott, epsecially new or newly rennovated ones. As a silver elite Marriott rewards member I am a frequent Marriott guest, so I know what to expect. There was nothing wrong with the room necessarily, there just was not a lot of difference between the room I stayed in at this Marrriott and the new Holiday Inn room I had last week in Jacksonville, FL. The other concerning issue was the deplorable smell which greeted me every time I got off the elevator on the 4th floor over a 2 day period. The smell was unacceptable and was a constant reminder of this hotel not measuring up to the Marriott standard.

On the positive side the hotel is located in a great location just a short walk to country club plaza. The staff were also very attentive and courteous. However, for over $200 night I would not stay here again for just an ok room on a smelly floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize that you were not satisfied with your experience at our hotel, especially as a valued Marriott Rewards Elite Member. We addressed the odor issue you mentioned, we apologize for the inconvenience it caused during your stay.
Thank you for the positive remarks regarding our staff and service, we take great pride in both.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week in February for business.

The room was not the cleanest I've stayed in. Stains on the walls and carpets, broken tiles in the bathroom, noisy HVAC, weak shower pressure. The wait for the elevators is about 5 minutes, no joke I timed it. No ice box in my room and even though I requested one from housekeeping, still no ice box. Parking garage is narrow, poorly lit and small. The gym has a very strong odor, a combination of sweat & chlorine and general musty smell. The TV on the treadmill was not working properly and the volume could not be adjusted above a whisper.

This hotel needs some MAJOR updating.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We are very dissapointed to hear about your experience at our hotel. We would like to further discuss it with you if you would like to contact us.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel has the nicest most amazing staff! Especially Ravis, I would like to put him in my pocket. And Chris the bartender who I would like to give a performance review to. The rooms are nice and they will change all of your bedding to feather free bedding if you have feather allergies. And will make sure you are put in a low level room if you have a phobia with elevators. They also have an awesome shuttle service and their shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion smell AMAZING!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaynac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel and our service! Our staff always wants to ensure all our guests have an excellent stay and are happy to go the extra mile. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott For a conference for three nights. From the minute we checked in, we were well looked after. Front desk staff was outstanding and very helpful! Hotel has a free shuttle to the Country Club Plaza as well

Our first night was off to a rocky start, as soon as we settled for bed, which was late after a day of travel, we heard water gushing on the floor in our bathroom....the toilet was over flowing! It was a literal flood in our room....which quite frankly, sucked. It took a few calls to the front desk to get someone to come up (I don't think they understood at first that the toilet was literally overflowing) but once they did we were taken care of. A new room on the 19th floor, which is a concierge level was given to us, as well as our first nights stay was removed from our bill. This was very nice, and the second evening I had a knock at the door with a fruit and cheese tray and waters from Kevin, the front desk manager.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and would commend to anyone staying in KC. I love the Plaza area, and it's so convenient to be located so close to shopping and restaurants.

Thanks again to the staff for making our stay so great, even with the hiccup we had.

The elevator was very slow, and the rooms could probably use an upgrade, especially the shower/bath. Beds were extremely comfortable. We had a group rate and I would have a hard time paying full price, regardless of how satisfied I am, $259/night is crazy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandandfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review. First of all we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced; we are happy to hear that everything was remediated to your satisfaction. We take pride in our staff and service and we appreciate you recognizing that.

We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here two nights last weekend while I was in Kansas City for a conference. I really like the hotel. It was updated and both the room and the public areas were very pleasant. The front desk staff was very helpful each time I spoke with them. Just about my only complaint was that the elevators were a little slow. It seemed like maybe only one out of three were working most of the time. But other than that, I had a very good experience and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay,
Please accept our sincere apologies for the delays with the elevators. We are diligently working on fixing the problem.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was unimpressed with this hotel. They have 'rennovated" the restaurant and lobby area about a year ago, but they didn't let their imagintaion run riot, It reminds me of a hotel from the 70's or 80's without being cool. In addition, I had a poor experience with the manager. When I arrived I had left my wallet on an airline seat on a flight from Hong Kong to KC via Chicago. The staff at the Marriot were more concerned about me producing a credit card (even though my company had guaranteed payment of the room (and at least a further 40 rooms that week) , than letting me check in. Only a very prefunctory call was made to Ameircan Airlines and the rest was left to me (a traveller from Australia) . In addition during the week I was constantly denied credit until I produced a credit card. I much prefer the Intercontinental, which is more convenient to the plaza, and the staff more friendly, and still carries old world charm in their bar and breakfast lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#12 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza

Property: Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Address: 4445 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#30 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing