We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgable staff. Superb bedding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My daughter and I were there for a "girls weekend". Our first trip to KC and really appreciated the guidance offered by the staff. Bob on the evening shift was particularly helpful. If someone didn't know the answer, they found someone else who did.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. And the beds? You will want to take them home with you. Comfortable beds and bedding.

We used room service for breakfast one morning. Prompt and the food was hot and delicious. We also used the valet parking, though that wasn't necessary but a treat for ourselves.

Walking distance to the Plaza shopping area, plenty of restaurants, art museums, and QuikTrip. The climb up the hill at the end of the day is the only downside. BUT, Marriott offers a free shuttle to take you to your Plaza destination. They provide you with a phone number and Paul quickly picked us up and took us back up the hill.

Room Tip: Bring plenty of cash for tipping. The service is great and worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christy0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

On behalf of the staff at the Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are truly glad that you had a great experience. Thank you for your great comments about our staff, we will make sure they are commended. It is our goal to provide the highest level of service and comfort and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
81630345589 (direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 576 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is the first time we have stayed at the Marriott here though we have stayed at a number of the other Plaza hotels. The hotel was spacious and the room we had on the 12th floor overlooked the Plaza section as well as giving a fantastic view of the southern part of the area - I had never realized how green and wooded it was there! Our room was well-laid out and the bed and pillows very comfortable and nicely tailored; Marriott now is in the market of selling bed linens and other items of decor that can be found in the rooms- even the beds! -, so their standards seem high. It took only a few minutes to walk to the Plaza to enjoy visiting the stores and restaurants though, if we had wanted, we could have arranged to take a courtesy shuttle. The hotel is adjacent to the Kemper Art museum and a short walk from both the art Institute and the Nelson-Atkins museum. Finding parking by the Nelson can be tiresome, so I would suggest leave your car at the hotel and walk; you will be there in less than 10 minutes. Parking spaces are cramped at the hotel, as indicated by other travelers, but we did manage to find wide enough bays. The bar in the lobby is vibrant and we enjoyed having a pre-dinner cocktail there before dining at one of the many restaurants on the Plaza.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

On behalf of the staff at the Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
We are delighted that you had a great experience during your stay at our hotel. It is our goal to offer the highest level of comfort and service to our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559 (direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This full service Marriott is a 2 block walk from the end of the Coutry Club section of Kansas City. The area is full of all kinds of bars and restaurants (chains but mostly not), many with alfresco seating, and shops. Sort of an open air mall with classy touches (check out all the tile work on the 40's looking buildings. Near parks and all those fountains.
Now for the hotel itself, rooms, typical for an upgraded Marriott, excellent bedding and TV, very nice concierge room and staff. Ask for a room high up looking towards the CC area.
Nice pool, and adequate gym.
Overall desk staff were very nice, bell staff were especially accommodating. I had a very early morning flight and they had my car at the door and ready at 5am as I had asked!
Forget the restaurant/bar. Standard Marriott fare poorly done. Bartenders acted like they just dropped out of bartending school. Do yourself a favor and walk to the Country Club area

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

On behalf of the staff at the Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
We apologize that the dining experience did not meet your expectations. Your input in very valuable to use, as it helps us improve.
We are glad that your overall experience was a positive one, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

From the valet at the front door, to the front desk, to the restaurant staff, everyone was helpful and courteous. The free breakfast we received with our booking was great and they allowed us to order from the menu as well as the buffet offerings. The tickets for the meal noted that included the tip, which was nice...we never even saw a bill. The hotel was clean and well furnished. Only problem was that the water in the shower was labeled wrong and hot was cold and visa versa-this could be dangerous. It was a short walk to Country Club Plaza, but there really are only a few hotels closer than this one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyde5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

On behalf of the staff at the Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, as our goal is to offer the highest level of service and comfort.
Please accept our apologies for the wrong labeling in the shower, we will address and fix that problem. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We hope to serve you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The staff could not have been nicer! The breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokinghotbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

On behalf of the staff at the Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
We are delighted that your experience was a positive one as our goal is to offer you the highest level of service and comfort.
We hope to serve you again in the future.

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I had a very pleasant stay here. Room service was efficient, food good (especially the locally-made sorbets), staff helpful. It was extremely hot when I visited and I decided not to open the window curtains once I realized how hot the glass was from the western sun beating down on it, so I didn't get the benefit of the view -- but the room was nice and cool, a good haven in a difficult summer season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaucerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

On behalf of the staff at the Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
We are delighted that you were pleased with your experience at our hotel, our goal is to offer the highest level of comfort and service for our guests.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future,

Izabella Toma
Sales and Marketing Office
8163034559

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed her overnight with a girlfriend and it was an okay place. The location to the plaza was lovely but not quite within walking distance when it's in the 90's outside. Our air conditioner control was on the fritz so we had a hard time controlling the temperature. There seemed to be a short in the controller.

The room was clean, the view was lovely, and the people were friendly. Beds were comfy and when I needed to get my bedding changed out because it was all down and I'm allergic, a great lady came and remade the whole bed for me. Usually I get tossed a bedspread from the 70's. She was awesome!

I gotta say having to pay for parking was ridiculous. It's an unnecessary racket that brings down my ratings.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izabellatoma, Owner at Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

On behalf of the staff at the Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback helps us make any necessary improvements.
We appreciate the nice comments about our staff; we always strive to offer the highest level of service.

Our hotel does offer complimentary door-to-door transportation to and from the Country Club Plaza. Thank you for bringing the Air Conditioning issue to our attention, we will address the problem. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

We apologize if your stay was less than perfect and we do hope for an opportunity to make your next experience an excellent one.

Izabella Toma
8163034559

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza

Address: 4445 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#30 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $180 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza is a reimagined, modern and chic hotel in Kansas City, Missouri offering a convenient location in the Country Club Plaza near the city's top attractions. Our upscale accommodations are minutes from the Power & Light District, Sprint Center, Kauffman Stadium and Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, among other premier destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing