We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liberty
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Decent hotel to stay overnight after a long trip.....nothing special. Plenty of restaurants in area

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKCLIB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review, July 9, 2009
Thank you for your response on your recent visit at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
41
15
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wichita
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2008

The only thing I liked about this hotel was the bed...nice and hard and flat! Beyond that, nothing. The secondary entrances smelled of cigarette smoke, there was what appeared a vomit stain on the 2nd floor hall carpet, the bathroom ceilings were water-stained from above and the walls showed a lot of wear.

The breakfast would probably be OK for a family with little kids, but we found it unappetizing in appearance and ate breakfast elsewhere.

The flat panel TV, which had been adjusted to a 16:9 format was analog, not digital and made all the programming look fake. The console on which the TV rested, was crooked to about a 15 degree pitch.

O well, I could go on, but for $149, I expected much more.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank lampmankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKCLIB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review, July 9, 2009
To this review I must say I do apologize for the condition of the property as you experienced it in August of 2008. To date, we have completed a full renovation from tile on the floor, paint on the walls, fresh brand new furnishings, brand new 32" Flat Screen LG HDTV's, even the exterior of the building and other brand hallmarks are in place for our chains relaunch in 2010. I encourage you to come back and try us again, you will be pleasantly surprised with our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We booked our room thru Hotwire 12 days in advance. The day before I called and requested a non-smkg room, which the mgr said she would do. It was to be a dbl room for 2 adults and 2 kids. When we arrived the mgr had given away our room & we were assigned a king size smoking room. All 4 of us in ONE bed, which is also against fire codes, as far as I know. They wouldn't do a thing about it, every hotel was full since the Yankees were in town and we spent 2 hours driving around til we found somewhere to stay. Dont put your family thru the frustration and the manager doesn't care about people who book on line!! We were told "If you reserve a room thru "one of those" you get what ever is left!"

  • Liked — I liked the idea of actually having a room there
  • Disliked — The management didn't honor our reservation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKCLIB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
Since 2007, Holiday Inn Express operated by IHG have changed our Third Party Web site booking procedures. We can assure you that what you book is what you will get. Come back and try us again, for better rates book our hotel directly with our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Really enjoyed this hotel. Was clean and comfortable. Easy access to I-35 too.

  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnkansascity, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Liberty for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Holiday Inn Express Liberty. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, MN
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2006

Relatively large attractive room, good heating/cooling unit, comfortable bed (thin blanket supplied if comforter is too warm). Also, good Bkfst with room rate (continental with hot item). Staff was receptive and accomodating. Location has good access to Interstate 35 with several restaurants within a block or two (Applebees and Cracker Barrel plus a few others).
Was very convenient for an overnight stay on the way to Branson.

  • Liked — Room Size
  • Disliked — No great views (but hotel was not chosen for this)
  • Tips/Secrets — Very good for overnight stay when traveling through Kansas City
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coon_Rapids_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnkansascity, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Express Liberty, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Liberty for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Staff members received our commendation for the courteous, helpful way in which they treated you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Holiday Inn Express Liberty. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2006

We attended a wedding in Manhattan, KS and needed a place to stay afterwards and while on the way back to Chicago. On the Internet, this hotel looked perfect. It was right off the highway and near restaurants. The first room we were sent to looked as if someone had been sitting on the bed after it had been made. In fact the pillows looked wilted and far from fresh. We complained and were upgraded to a "suite". This room was no better. The hotel was dirty, the linens looked shabby, there was minimal lighting but the cobwebs in the corners were so huge you could still easily see them. The new window coverings had paint drips all over them. The lighting in the bathroom gave it the feel of a prison cell. We decided not to stay. The clerk was gracious and took the charge off of our bill. We drove on to Des Moines and stayed there instead.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness; quality of beds, bedding and lighting
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moviegourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Kansas City - Liberty
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Liberty
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 109 in Kansas City
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Liberty/NE Kansas City
1.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Liberty
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites and Indoor Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liberty

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liberty
Address: 8230 N Church Rd, Kansas City, MO 64158-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Liberty 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Kansas City Airport Hotel located just off I-35 and only 15 miles from the Kansas City International Airport. Guest will enjoy by visiting famous area attractions and will find abundance of leisure activities nearby Kansas City Airport Hotel like Worlds of Fun, Oceans of Fun and Kansas City Zoological Park, Sprint Arena, Science City, Steam Boat Arabia Museum, American Negro Baseball Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liberty Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing