We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendliest staff, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport for one night on our way out west for a road trip. I was greeted by the friendliest, most helpful staff one could ask for. Her name was Sam and she was awesome. It was around 8pm on New Year's Day when we checked in and we were only in KC for one night. We wanted to try some serious barbecue and asked for recommendations. She told us to head up to our room and she would make some calls to find out which of the best places were open on the holiday. She even printed out google maps directions for us. She was so helpful - and her recommendation led us to the best burnt ends we ever had!
Additionally, the room was big and nicely appointed with a huge tv that had lots of channels and even hookups for dvd players and game systems. The breakfast was great and again the morning staff was totally friendly.
Only negative is the linens - the sheets were rough and the towels were like sandpaper. Still, the accommodations were tops and the service could not be beat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 773 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Really nice hotel, very close to airport. The staff was very friendly and professional. We thought the free breakfast was nice too, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, egg and cheese sandwiches, and bagels. The room was very clean, some dust on the bathroom floor, but not a big deal.
The lobby was very clean also. Our only problem was the morning we were leaving we signed up for the 5am shuttle to the airport. People who DIDN'T sign up and were there ahead of us were let on the shuttle, while we had to wait for another to come. I think the problem was more with the shuttle driver who refused to tell the people to get off when it was HIS fault for not checking their names on the list before allowing them on. Problem was solved quickly by hotel staff, who again were friendly and accomodating. Nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeneen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Close to the airport. Has a shuttle to the airport. Breakfast is served. Small lobby area you can have a glass of wine and unwind. Staff was friendly. Small glitch with their computer system, but it cleared up quickly. You can also check in and out at a kiosk by the door. Rooms are spacious. There was a desk and sofa area. The large screen tv could be turned so that you cold watch from the couch or the beds. Rooms were spotless. Bathroom was adequate. Elevators to the upper floors. Nice room.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Dogs in a nearby room began barking and howling beginning at 10:30 pm. Front desk said they'd take care of it. I still heard them at 11, just before I fell asleep. In the future, I'll check the pet policy before booking a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Although the hotel was great to stay at, if you are on a special diet don't stay here! The breakfast menu did not offer anything except fresh fruit that we could have (vegetarian, gluten and casein free, and low fat) Although there is a Waffle House and Ruby Tuesday's nearby, you won't find gluten free, soy milk, or other options available. We were there 4 days so we tried to make the best of it. At first, I picked off the bread on the delicious ham/bacon, cheese, egg muffins and biscuits and thought of all the waste, so I asked if they could make it without the bread rather than waste what was already cooked. No problem! I asked for some egg whites. The eggs came already cooked and they warmed them up, so I picked around the yolks. Of course, it took a few to fill me up, but it was breakfast! It took a year to get my cholesterol down so I wouldn't chance it! However, when the manager found out, he told them I couldn't have any more because they would run out! After breakfast hours you could get the muffin for about $9 though! Yes, the bedding was scratchy and skimpy (where are the blankets for the pull out bed? When it is the middle of the night and they tell you it's in the closet and all you find is a pillow and a spread! The rest of the staff were very kind. There are 2 computers you can use all day and print if you need to. This motel is made for office people, not those with families!

Room Tip: Ours had a view of the airport so you could see planes landing!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here 1 night while visiting family. The hotel was very clean with a modern decor. There is a lot of room with a large sectional sofa. The fitness center was good - 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, recumbent bike, weight machines and free weights. The free breakfast was good. Lots of choices including healthy options. The only issue I had was that the linens were not soft. The sheets were scratchy and the towels were rough ( however the towels in the fitness center were soft). I would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Amy-STLMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here overnight to be close to the airport during bad weather. This hotel is amazing. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Very modern decor. Large comfy sectional sofa and a huge 42 inch tv made it feel more like a small apartment than a hotel. Nice workdesk and wet bar area. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was nice. The staff is the best part. Very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff was wonderful at checkin & checkout. Offered driving directions and recommendations on places in the area. Had to have a small problem fixed in the room and the maintenance personnel was at my door almost seconds after I hung up my phone reporting the problem. He was professional and fast and fixed the issue within minutes. The breakfast was wonderful. Gourmet (applewood bacon, egg, smoked gouda cheese & spinach, egg, tomato options) oatmeal, cereal, pastries, tons of freshfruit (the ruby red grapefruit was delicious), juices, coffee, and hot belgian waffles. Everything was kept well stocked and food that had been sitting was removed and replaced with fresh items regularly. They also have 24/7 food options that were so affordable compared to other room service menus. Most items I saw (even dinner) were $10 or less. I have found my new favorite place to stay when I'm in the area. Great job Hyatt Place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
1.8 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#2 of 109 in Kansas City
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport

Address: 7600 NW 97th Ter, Kansas City, MO 64153-1831 (Formerly "AmeriSuites")
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $103 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport Hotel Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City
Kansas City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing