We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really wanted to like this hotel....I really did.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is not a "beautiful hotel". This is a standard hotel in an industrial park that is close to the airport.

However, my first impressions were good. The shuttle drivers were very responsive and quick. The room was nice and there was a nice large flat screen TV. There was an outdoor pool and a decently equipped gym.

Then things took a turn for the worse. The small in-room refrigerator made clicking noises that kept me up at night until I finally figured out it was coming from the fridge (unplugged it--problem solved for me who did not have food or drinks stored). We lost our AC/ventilation and the front desk person was not friendly about it. However, both before and after it was fixed, a very nice staff member came to my door to give me the scoop and provide customer service. Kudos!

The gym has equipment that was not working--just one or 2 machines but that took away from my workout routine.

The breakfast was cereals, bagels, toast and usually bisquits and gravy. They had oatmeal once which was good but only offered once during my week stay. The coffee was not great and they removed the coffee before 9:30 am which was when breakfast ended. Why can't they provide coffee all day is a mystery to me who has stayed at cheaper hotels (Hampton Inns, Holiday Inns, etc.) that had coffee available all the time. The limited food selections offered for room service were mediocre.

There was a Waffle House, a Ruby Tuesday and a Cracker Barrel within walking distance. The shuttle will take you to other eateries at Zoa Rosa which is several streets with chain restaurants and some shops--kind of like a strip mall community.

If I had my way, I would stay downtown! If you do stay here, you'll want to leave in a day or two.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irony093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 788 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

A great place to stay close to the airport. The staff is friendly, the rooms are very nice, inclusive the breakfast is much better than you usually find when included with the rate. If you want to walk or jog - you can run or walk through a small industrial area. Ruby Tuesdays restaurant is with in walking distance (100 feet). Also, you are looking for a "NICE" area to dine/bars/etc look no further than one exit to the south (3 minutes). There you will find the Zona Roza shopping area. Zona Roza is an eclectic group of shops and restaurants. Also across highway 29 to the south one exit is a Walmart/Lowes/Barnes and Noble etc. This is one of the nicer areas to stay if you need to be in North Kansas City.

Room Tip: Other hotels near buy. Hilton and Hampton Inn across the highway. If you are a Cracker Barrel fan th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lakelizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel is beautifully decorated. It is in a good location, very clean, has a relaxing environment and a friendly staff. The breakfast area is lovely with great food presentation.
The shuttle driver was helpful and courteous. It is like a vacation to just stay here instead of the park and fly option.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank small_towner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

i will stay here again when I fly to Kansas City. Great location: close to airport, restaurants, and easy drive to downtown. The room was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the included breakfast an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My son and I had the pleasure to stay at this Hyatt property last week on our drive back to Mich from Colorado Springs. To get here from the highway is a little tricky albeit easy to follow the GPS. We arrived at midnight and was pleasantly greeted like it was 8:am. The front desk staff were helpful in securing a nightcap to help ease us into a peaceful nights rest. A nice note is that due to their promixity and the high number of stays by airline pilots and attendants they offer a 5:30am breakfast. The new Hyatt hot breakfast had not arrived at this location as yet, but the breakfast offering was robust and well stocked. I would totally recommend this property whether you are driving or flying through Kansas City.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UoMdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Nice clean room and pleasant staff. Lovely outdoor pool. Breakfast offerrings included all you would find in a good continental breakfast plus great biscuits and gravy. Efficient shuttle service. First time staying in a Hyatt Place - love the concept. Comfortable beds. Great living room area. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keokukjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Wow! Clean, comfortable, modern rooms-convenient to the airport. We got in late and had to catch an early flight, but we were so impressed with the hotel and its staff we wish we could of stayed longer. Our only complaint was the bathroom was a little cramped! The beds were very nice. We enjoyed the breakfast in the lobby/lounge area in the morning it was quick and delicious- which was just what we needed!

Room Tip: we booked through hotels.com and got a really great rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmomma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
1.8 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
595 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
#47 of 109 in Kansas City
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport

Address: 7600 NW 97th Ter, Kansas City, MO 64153-1831 (Formerly "AmeriSuites")
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $98 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport Hotel Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City
Kansas City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing