We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef knows how to cook polenta..and a lot more”

The Farmhouse - Kansas City
Reserve with OpenTable
The Farmhouse - Kansas City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 3rd & Delaware St.
Description: The Farmhouse features seasonal and classically creative comfort foods of all types. We hate to waste food; embracing the "tip-to-tail" ideology enables us to work with our local farmers to grow the animals we need and to harvest those animals as they're needed. We also respect each animal raised for our kitchen by using as much of each animal as we creatively can. We butcher cuts not commonly used in modern cooking; we make our own bacon and lardons in house; we make chicharrones, broths, stews in house...All from pastured animals grown for The Farmhouse! We continue that ethic with the produce served in our restaurant and in our scratch bar - we use all parts of the vegetables we receive from our farmers, making our own stocks, sauces, ketchup, and our talented bartenders make their own seasonal syrups, purees & shrubs. "Farm-to-table" means that we work with local farmers from Kansas and Missouri, making them the base for our food and drink ingredients, keeping them in business all year long, reducing our carbon footprint, and making sure that you get the freshest ingredients on your plate! Picking their organic, non-GMO crops at dawn, delivering them to us early in the day, our farmers enable our menu to remain seasonal, always fresh, and creative. Seasonal menus are wonderful! You get to fully enjoy what the Kansas City region has to offer, from the change in the weather to the change of the crops. Enjoy delicious drinks and comfort food with us!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chef knows how to cook polenta..and a lot more”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you live in Kansas City and have never been to the Farmhouse, you should go. You have a gem here. From the polenta cakes with caramelized onions and goat cheese, salmon that was perfectly cooked, to the deep, satisfying braised short ribs, every dish was thoughtfully prepared and just simply delicious. If I had to choose one criticism, it would be to make the dishes simpler. The ingredients were that good. And, I'm still thinking about those polenta cakes; moist and savory. Decent wine list. Chef even recommended a bottle to best go with our different dishes and we weren't disappointed. Service was excellent. They even crafted a gin cocktail for me that was just outstanding. Looking forward to the next trip to K.C. with a stop at the Farmhouse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    82
    30
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Short rib”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at the farmhouse, wine list is French and local. The short ribs very tender. The specials on the chalk boards are very creative.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mfoust2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Another little gem in Kansas City”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hubby had the tomato and basil soup - I tasted quite a bit of it too and it is lovely. He followed up with the BLT made with smooth pork belly and spinach, topped with cooked tomatoes. I had an oyster po' boy. I was torn between that and the crayfish appetizer so I have to go back to try that next time. Oysters tasted just right. The fries are old fashioned cut and seasoned with salt and pepper and delicious (sorry doctor, I know I am supposed to be avoiding such sins but they were irresistible). Our friend has a pastrami sandwich which he said was wonderful. He has also been there in the past for breakfast and says they have some of the best Eggs Benedict he has ever tasted.

Hubby and friend had French pressed coffee which was just the right strength and flavour. I had a cocktail, can't remember the name but again, really good. Sour and tart, cool and refreshing.

What makes this place though is, once again, the staff. Diane is a great hostess and very sweet and charming but the real star is Sunny (Sonny?) the waiter. He is quite divine. He's funny, attentive, courteous and very easy on the eyes. The man has the stunning good looks of the model Iman.

The decor is simple and elegant with just a touch of shabby chic. Many of the paintings are very compelling, in the style of the British artist Beryl Cook.

Personally I thought the prices were very reasonable for the location, freshness of the ingredients and unique menu. You might not eat there every day, but it's pretty good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“unimpressed”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate brunch here after friends' recommendations and it certainly does NOT live up to a 35.00 breakfast. The coffee, both pots, was luke warm after just a little bit of cream was added. The eggs Benedict was ok. The hash had a myriad of fresh ingredients and an interesting sauce but it still was very bland. I hate restaurants where you have to ask for salt and pepper (so pretentious) but our meal certainly needed it. The waiter was friendly but neglectful. We had to ask someone else to send him over to get our coffee, order OJ and finally to get our bill. The atmosphere is great, however, we will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Eggs Benedict”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The eggs benedict are the best in KC. They are served ala cart, so if you are really hungry order something on the side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmhouse - Kansas City also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to The Farmhouse - Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing